Tags

, , , , , ,

I promised myself I’d write more in the new year. I know. Didn’t I just post a few days ago about how I hate the new year? Yeah, well, my hatred of it doesn’t seem to stop me from making promises to myself, which is different from resolutions because I said it is. Anyway, I did promise myself I’d write more in the new year, and that I would read more books that I haven’t read before (I have this habit of reading the same books over and over again until they’re falling apart; I’m not saying that’s a bad habit, really, just that I am trying to broaden my horizons a bit). Also it wasn’t so much a promise to myself as a reality that I absolutely had to buckle back down on things like housework, homeschooling, and serious regular exercise, all of which kind of slacked off before Christmas in favor of Baking Good Things and Running To And Fro and Spending Too Much Money, and which continued their demise after Christmas in favor of Naps and Pajamas All Day and also Donkey Kong Country Returns. This is our first week back at it, and it’s rough. Full-on school days, homeschool co-op, church activities, regular exercise, the housework planner, a schedule. Oh, and then I’m supposed to be reading and writing more. I’m not supermom and it’s not really going well. It really would go okay if long division wasn’t so difficult, and if my daughter didn’t require quite so much attention at all moments of the day, and if memorizing the 8 times table was a whole lot easier. Also if I didn’t need sleep. That would be good. I’m not asking you to feel sorry for me. This is life, and we’re all living it. Busy seasons– and they keep getting busier. I resist it but it’s just reality. In the middle of it, I desperately want to write. Sometimes when I’m doing housework or schoolwork or a workout I simultaneously compose amazing blog entries and poems and short stories, but by the time I sit down and open my laptop and find a place with a blinking cursor all that’s left of the words is “wow, I’m tired.” So when I say I’m hoping to blog more, well, I hope you realize that for me, more is a very relative term. I want to write, but I need to spend time with my husband, take care of my family, watch out for my health (spiritual, physical, mental), keep my house reasonably clean, teach my children, feed all of us, minister to my church, get enough sleep, keep in touch with my loved ones, and occasionally play Donkey Kong Country. It’s a lot of balls to keep in the air, and I’m not much of a juggler. I trust you’ll forgive me if the ball I most often drop is this blog. Better that than my kids, don’t you think? ;)

