An Open Letter to Mike at the Iowa Bicycle Coalition

Dear Mike,

Yesterday you posted a comment to my blog about road construction and bicyclists. I deleted it. I blog for fun, not to invite judgmental comments or stir up contraversy. However, I do feel the need at this point to clarify a few things.

First of all, after visiting the Iowa Bicycle Coalition website, I became aware of the tragedy that happened recently here in Iowa that resulted in two cyclists dying. I can only imagine the heartache that this has brought to the cycling community, and I am sure that nerves are raw. This is the reason I am posting this publicly instead of just emailing you privately.

Here’s the thing about my blog. I am not a confrontational person. In fact, it’s possible I’m slightly passive-aggressive although definitely more on the passive side. Mainly I just like to whine. So when I’ve spent my day at a very stressful job and then coming home I get stuck for a couple miles behind a clump of bicyclists who are not SHARING the road, but are in fact taking up the whole thing, that’s going to get on my nerves and you can bet I’m going to vent about it.

The majority of the cyclists I pass are extremely respectful of the other drivers along the highway. They ride single file or at least get into single file when they realize a car has come up behind them. But it’s the minority that makes those of us in the driver’s seat feel disrespected. I am one of the drivers who waits until I’m in a passing zone and can see significantly ahead of me before I try to pass even a single bicyclist on the road, unless there is a pretty wide shoulder. There is no way I would want to endanger the life of a bicylist. I am certainly not a road rager, as you accused me of in your comment. What frustrates me is the attitude of this minority that they are going to ride in front of me, not even trying to move out of my way, and there is not a darn thing in the world I can do about it.

Share the road shouldn’t just be the message preached to the drivers of motorized vehicles, it should be preached to bicyclists as well.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

Tune in next time to read my reply to the guys with the orange barrels . . .

9 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Mike at the Iowa Bicycle Coalition

  1. Erin,

    Another fan from SB.com checking in…. you still rock. Thanks for continuing to Blog and keeping us in stiches!

    Penny (BikeJavaScrap)

  2. Wow! You’ve only had this blog for a few days, and you’re already getting flames? Eek.

    For the record (and because I know it’s SO important to you), I completely agree with you. Aren’t you glad to know that? 😉

  3. BAHAAAHAAAHAAAHAAAHAAA!!!! I am ROFLMBO!!!!! I love juicy stuff and to think I missed the comment yesterday and you deleted it! UGH! (as i slap myself in the forehead), I could have had so much fun with my sarcasm!! Love the bloggin’ girl, you’re the bomb diggaty of bloggers!!!!! LOL Bomb-diggaty-bloggin-princess-erin-jo….LOVE IT!!

  4. I would have to agree with you Erin. If they want the same rules as cars then they “the bicyclists” have to share the road. We have the same problems here in St. Louis (the city, with a ton more cars). And shame on that guy for yelling at you for expressing your views in a simply wonderful and everyday blog. Tell him to take a bike!!!

  5. I understand your frustration with the bikes. I have the same problems with the space ships were I work. Those UFO’s think they own the road, and they just won’t get out of my way! Grrrrr….

Leave a Reply

