Thankful

Nine years ago today I fell in love with my husband. I was twenty years old– looking back, it seems impossible that I could have possibly known what love even is. I have to believe that it was God’s hand guiding us together. The guy I fell in love with, nine years ago, was kind, gentle, sympathetic, understanding, and and funny. He still is. And he’s a romantic at heart, and he cooks. And cleans. And no, I’m not sharing.

We’ve been through some interesting times together– good and bad. We’ve had money problems; we’ve had health issues. We’ve had loved ones get sick; we’ve attended funerals of people who we loved dearly. We’ve lived in four different places and have survived weird landlords, floods, community washing machines, and shared walls. We have brought two precious little bundles home from the hospital and have lived through sleepless nights, endless bottles, shots, diaper blow-outs, potty training, temper tantrums, and a couple of naughty words one of the boys brought home from preschool.

Life has not been easy, but we have grown together throughout the years. I am so thankful for that.

The last week has been the hardest thing we have ever faced in our marriage. To lose a child– so unexpectedly. I can’t even begin to describe how thankful I am for the wonderful man I married. He has been so strong for me, although I know he is hurting as much as I am. He has been absolutely incredible. And God is using the grief, and the sorrow, and the confusion, to bring us closer. Suddenly we hold hands more. We touch more. We cuddle and we hug and we make sure the other is doing okay.

There is so much to work through, so much we don’t understand. We are working through it as a couple, and I can’t express how thankful I am to have this wonderful man by my side. I don’t think I could handle life without him. He is my best friend.

Art and I have been married seven and a half years. Those years have not been easy; there have been a lot of tough situations. But when I look back over that time what I remember is laughing together. I remember good times. I can say these years have been happy ones. And so much of that is my dear husband, loving me and making me smile in the hardest situations, even in this difficult time. He is my miracle. I don’t deserve him.

But I thank God for him.

I love you, sweetheart.

9 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. What Kim said! Oh Erin reading your words, my tears are flowing. Thank you, for helping me, to see what a wonderful man I am married to. Sometimes you forget. He is as you describe Art. We are truly blessed to have these men in our lives. I would be lost without my husband. Your words are so inspiring to me.

  2. hey, can i copy and paste this to my blog, switch the time frames and the names?? LOL great blog, art is just as thankful for you, i am sure of it. it’s amazing how close two people can become after years of being together, the godly love that they begin to share is indescribable, and i have to say, laughter is one of the best things for a husband and wife to be able to have. that’s one of my favorite things about ty and i’s relationship.

  3. What a sweet post about your husband. He sounds like a wonderful dad and husband. Wishing you lots more years of happiness. 🙂

  4. As always Erin, you have a way with words. Your ability to spell out your feelings, display your heart, in such an eloquent way is truly inspiring. You make me want to look for the good in people and look for God in my daily life. I know that he is there, sometimes its hard to lose our focus though.
    Thank you for being you and sharing so openly with your friends, both online and IRL. You truly are a special person and obviously part of a very special family.

  5. Hi Erin…
    Just checking in with you.
    What a beautiful blog post…it has really made me think of what a wonderful relationship God has given me with my husband…your words are so sweet, i bet your hubby feels the same for you. I am praying for you and hope you are doing ok. Take comfort in your blessings…and know many prayers are being said for your family.

    Michelle {mshell}

Leave a Reply

