Walking for Arthritis

Well, today was that long-anticipated event, the Des Moines Arthritis Walk. Which Iowa celebrated by sending down much rain upon the earth. Ugh.

Actually, the rain had pretty much cleared up before we actually started walking, which was a very good thing. By the time we left the sun was actually trying to peek through the clouds.

Anyway, the walk was held at the Blank Park Zoo and basically involved laps around the zoo. Each lap was 1/4 of a mile and I think most people lost track because of the many distractions of the zoo. We did walk a mile– Ryan counted very carefully how many times we had gone around. And in the process we saw some tigers, some groundhogs, feeding time in the penguin display, a peacock, some otters, and a giraffe going potty (which the boys thought was just about the funniest thing ever).

Once we had done our four laps we went inside and went through the Discovery Center, which is the boys’ favorite part unless they get to ride the train. The discovery center has fish and reptiles and amphibians and birds (and a few mammals. Weird how they have all those animals in the, you know, zoo). It’s really pretty cool, especially considering that this is Iowa and all.

Anyway, because I know that the only reason you read this blog is in hopes of getting a glimpse of my adorable and perfectly-trained children, here are some pictures.

This is all of the walkers on our team. My mom and dad were supposed to come out too but Dad decided to have a heart catheterization instead (that was NOT a good choice, Dad) so they had to stay home. And one other girl didn’t make it. Still, we had a pretty good turnout considering the yucky weather. Our team raised over $600 for the Arthritis Foundation!

This is the Official Picture of Us Walking. The only one, in fact. Our team got separated about ten seconds after the team picture was taken. πŸ™‚

Here’s me and my sweetheart. We’re less than two weeks away from our eighth wedding anniversary. I am so blessed to have him in my life. Marrying him was the smartest thing I ever did. πŸ™‚ (Aw, I got all schmoozy there for a minute. Just wait till May 20th!)

This is after the walk itself was over, on the log bridge in the discovery center. I love taking pictures on this thing. I have tons of shots of the boys walking and even crawling over this thing through the years. This is the first time with mohawks, though. πŸ™‚

This is the boys in the big glass bubble that looks into one of the aquariums (the one with all the fish from Finding Nemo). Isn’t it just the cutest picture? I love it. πŸ™‚

This is Sam checking out the jellyfish tank. This tank is round and they like to walk around and around it until they make me dizzy.

And this underwater creature is new to the zoo. Notice the distinctive dorsal fin and the strange hand-like appendages. Unfortunately this unique creature did not have a label, but based on his behavior he seems to be some kind of Crazy Fish.

And finally, my children, always seeking to make Mommy proud, have developed a new habit which we were lucky enough to catch on camera. It’s moments like these that make motherhood such a joyful journey.

As my friend Tammy’s mother used to say “We’re making a memory.”

Have a great weekend everybody.

8 thoughts on “Walking for Arthritis

  1. Ok…this was fun to read. Not to mention how excited I was that your team raised over $600, but the pictures were extremely fun to look at. I especially liked the mohawks. I was just in the salon for a hairtrim and a little boy plopped down in the seat next to me and said, “I want to be Mohawk Man.” Well, he got it. πŸ™‚ I really, really liked the shirt slogan. Erin’s Royal Pains…in keeping with the Princess theme. Like it! Also, what better place to do a walk but the zoo…I can’t wait to go! I would have loved to participate in this one…so let me know next time you’re planning something!

  2. I’m LOLing at the Crazy Fish with the dorsal fin, that’s fantastic!!!!

    And the grabbing the crotch shots were perfect *LOL*

    awesome, glad you had a good day.

  3. I believe that fish in question is the Dorsal-Crested Purple-breasted winged-monkey fish, a rare fish capable of both swimming and flying, as well as walking more or less upright. It’s scientific name is “Ryanus Crazious”, and is often known as the terror of the seas (or land or air, depending where you find it). Scientists are baffled how such a water/land/air creature was able to evolve to its current state, so they have attempted to keep it quiet. It’s good to see that our zoo is an institution that promotes untrammeled thought.

  4. I’m glad that the walk went well. Glad the rain stopped. Awesome pictures as usual and I love that pic of Ryan being a Crazy Fish!!!!

Leave a Reply

