Lists, Lists, Lists

Yesterday’s post was an exciting examination of everything I am not. Today’s post is all about my dearest friend, my better half, the love of my stinking life.

In one of my jaunts around the blogosphere (I’ve been jaunting and frolicking around the wide world of mommy blogs a lot lately), I discovered this fabulous concept of My Husband Rocks Fridays. And I think this is just such a wonderful idea. So many women just gripe gripe gripe about their spouses. Well if he’s such a jerk, why did you marry him in the first place?

My mom told me a long time ago that one of the best pieces of advice she could give me is to never gossip about my husband or speak negatively about him to others. Yes, that is a challenge, especially for a person like me who loves to talk. A lot. But it is a great bit of advice. And I think that I, as the very blessed wife of a wonderful, godly man, ought to take as many opportunities as possible to brag on him.

However, my Fridays are already taken with The Book Experience with Stinky and Bubs, so I have decided to post My Husband Rocks Friday on Wednesday.

I am not the Princess of Conformity. I believe I established that yesterday.

So, without any further ado, I present My Husband Rocks Friday Wednesday, and

Ten Reasons My Husband Rocks

1. He gives plasma so that we can have spending money to buy stuff, go out for dinner, and do special things as a family.

2. He regularly makes dinner and loads the dishwasher.

3. He loves books even more than I do.

4. He calls one of the girls at his job Lumpy. It makes me laugh every time.

5. He has been making me laugh since we first met (ten years ago next month!) and he gives me reasons to giggle every day.

6. When I had a miscarriage earlier this year, he cried with me and shared my grief. (And he still found ways to make me smile).

7. He introduced me to the wonder that is the Starbucks Frappucino.

8. He thinks I’m attractive, in spite of the rather distressing weight gain I have experienced in the last year. (Brownie, anyone?)

9. He is an amazing daddy to our sons.

10. He puts up with me– and I am needy, annoying, loud, and a really bad housekeeper.

<— plus, we’re just such a cute couple! πŸ™‚ *adding for clarity’s sake and so everyone doesn’t get a very wrong idea, this is not our house. Our house is smaller, less pretty, and not surrounded by a big iron fence. LOL. This is the Harry S. Truman house in Independence, MO*

22 thoughts on “Lists, Lists, Lists

  1. Awesome post. But don’t think I’m weird kay? I’m really curious about your hub’s plasma. What does he have that’s special..is it his Rh Immune Globulin they are after or something else? Is this too personal of a question?

  2. Aww…this really is the bestest idea! Can I steal it?!
    And, um, is that your house in the background?!?!?! IT is awesome!

  3. please excuse me while I throw up a little in my mouth LOL πŸ™‚
    You know I’m kidding!
    kudos to the happy couple πŸ™‚

  4. OMG i hope lumpy’s not reading this, knowing she is who he calls lumpy. or does she know she’s lumpy? cause i know i’m lumpy πŸ™‚

    this is too cool. i might have to bloglift it and give you credit. that’s a really great pic of the two of you.

  5. Several Things:

    1. Lumpy does not know her nickname is Lumpy. I could come up with many many more names for her. Just imagine a constant train-wreck wrapped in flesh, and you can get a general idea of what she’s like.

    2. I would be a Big Presidential History Buff if I could ever read more than biographies of Washington and Adams. But those two are so interesting, and Jefferson is kind of boring, so there you have it.

    3. I do have slightly more valuable plasma now because I got a tetnus shot, which somehow makes it worth more. I do get a (VERY VERY VERY) slight extra bit of money ($5) for getting the shot.

    4. This means that I too will have to write blogs about why my wife rocks, otherwise I will look insensitive and rude. So I guess that means by stunning expose on presidential navel lint will have to wait. Sigh.

    5. I love you baby.

  6. yay! thanks for joining us! i’m so excited to hear about all the ways your husband rocks! πŸ™‚

    you just inspired a plasma giving post, too! i’m not sure when i’ll post it, but i’ll let you know! πŸ™‚

  7. Your husband definitely rocks and your little one’s are just so precious.

    Enjoy every moment, they grow up so fast. I now have 3 little granddaughters that bring so much joy.

    hugs,
    Barb

  8. That is so awesome! I think you are right about women tending to bash on their husbands a bit. I will have to check out my husband rocks fridays… I know I am always glad to have him home for the weekend!

  9. Love the hubby rocks!! Guess some how we managed to do something right with him!! I hope you both always know how much the two of you rock together!! Keep it up!! Love ya both!

  10. Erin, I’m so glad I found your blog! I didn’t even know that you had a miscarriage- I’m so sorry! When Joel & I were first married, his mom told me the same thing- about never speaking badly of your husband, and choosing to protect him instead- and I truly think it’s the best marriage advice I’ve ever gotten. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

