66% Neurotic

Neurotic, Attention-Seeking, and Lazy rolled into one! I'm the total package!

Neurotic, Attention-Seeking, and Lazy rolled into one! I'm the total package!

I have recently become active on Facebook, and when I say active I mean obsessed. Seriously, social networking sites are evil. They suck you in with promises of reconnection with long-lost pals and next thing you know you’ve spent the last half hour mindlessly watering someone else’s fake garden. It’s very, very sad.

One of the many highly beneficial activities I have enjoyed on Facebook this week was taking a Personality Test. I answered 100 questions about myself, and then it analyzed my answers and told me what kind of person I am and where I stand among the rest of the world.

Seeing the truth about myself out there in black and white (well, actually, in a pretty five-colored graph, but still) has been, shall we say, a bit of a shock. I mean, I always have known I’m a spaz. But– according to the Facebook Personality Profile, I am 66% neurotic. Here’s what the profile actually says:

This trait refers to the way you cope with, and respond to, life’s demands. Approximately 91.9% of respondents have a lower neuroticism raw percentage than yours. From the way you answered the questions, you seem to describe yourself as someone who tends to be more self-conscious than many. Based on your responses, you come across as someone who can find it hard to not get caught up by anxious or stressful situations.

Did you catch that? I am more emotionally unstable than ninety-two percent of test responders. I am completely incapable of functioning! It’s a miracle I don’t just explode right now– because life is pretty stressful at the moment and I’m 66% neurotic!

But wait, there’s more. I’m also very extraverted (I’m sure this comes as a shock). According to the test I am more extraverted than 95% of the rest of you. Which explains, I’m sure, why I am sharing my neuroses about my neuroses in my public blog. I can’t help myself. Emotional instability plus extreme extraversion is a dangerous combination.

And, as if my noisy psychopathic tendencies were not enough, I am also extremely not conscientious. I am less conscientious than 98.5% of the general population. If you want to know what that means, it means I never finish what I start, I’m completely unorganized, and that I’m a big slob. Now, the facebook survey tries to make it sound nice– like being zany and impulsive is a good thing. Maybe it is, when you’re not a wife, mother, employee, and, you know, a grown-up, but I think perhaps that I take it a bit far.

So– I am obnoxiously public with everything, including my lack of emotional stability, and I never accomplish anything. Sigh. This whole thing is about to make me more neurotic, I think. The positive thing is that I am reasonably agreeable and open to change and differences. Do you think that makes up for my big mouth, my emotional failings, and my lack of conscientiousness?

Honestly, reading this kind of did depress me a little. I mean, it’s not like I didn’t know these things about myself. I know I have a hard time controlling my emotions, and that I do struggle with getting things done, and that I really really like to be the center of attention. But I’m not sure this is completely accurate, either. Sure, the survey did a great job of pointing out my weaknesses. But it knows nothing of my greatest strength, which is my Savior.

His strength is made perfect in weakness.

That’s right, folks. My impulsive, neurotic, loud and obnoxious self is just here to make God look better.

I guess I can handle that.

3 thoughts on “66% Neurotic

  1. I am so afraid of Facebook…I have had so many invitations that I immediately delete from my inbox, I’ve heard about the addictions!

    That was a hilarious personality test but the picture tells a 1000 words! LOL! Loved it.

  2. Um, I took the test, and all that happend was that I received a phone call from the National Pyschiatric Counseling Center, and they warned me not to go anywhere until they got here. Is that bad?

Leave a Reply

