First Daze

Before I get into the meat of today’s blog entry, which is cute pictures of my children wearing backpacks, I want to thank you all for your kind reception to my new blog. I understand some of you are having trouble with RSS– this blog theme doesn’t have that neat little orange button near the top that makes subscribing so easy. Which I didn’t realize until I had the whole thing up and running and I’m not going to change it now, sorry. However, if you scroll down in the sidebar on the home page you will see a heading called “Meta.” You can click there to subscribe to the RSS feed for entries. I hope this helps you all, let me know if that’s not working or if you have any other problems and I’ll see what I can do to help you out. I’m not very tech-savvy so I hope you’ll be patient with me until we get the kinks ironed out. And you always have the option of subscribing via email– just shoot me a note at princessofsomething at gmail.com and I will be glad to add you to my list. Now, please, sit back and enjoy the circus.

*****

Last night we carefully laid out Ryan’s outfit for his first day of school. After his shower, I handed him a pair of brand new underwear, but he refused to wear them until this morning. Everything had to be new for the first day of school.

So today we sent out our little boy, who I guess isn’t as little as I like to imagine, into the great big world of Kindergarten. Red backpack strapped over his new gray shirt, hand clutching his Lightning McQueen lunch box, tummy full of butterflies, Ryan marched into Mrs. Jeske’s classroom followed by his weeping parents, his nonchalant brother, and a camera. He was a little uncertain but he did not cry or act upset.

And when he got home this afternoon the first words he told me were “That was a great day, Mommy!”

Can I share some advice? Don’t turn thirty the day before your younger son starts preschool and two days before your older son starts kindergarten. It’s been a bit of a traumatic week for my poor husband. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is Sam on his first day of preschool. He got to eat his banana in the car.

Ready to face the world! Of course, his preschool classroom, teacher, and friends are all exactly the same as they were on Monday when they were just daycare. But now it’s called preschool, at least in the mornings, and Sam has been very excited. ๐Ÿ™‚

And here we have Ryan, this morning.

Ryan comforting his poor traumatized Daddy.

Me, getting a goodbye hug from the munchkin. Don’t even bother asking who’s comforting whom in this picture. Notice my artfully concealed red eyes.

Sitting at his desk in his room. I think this might be the “stop taking pictures of me and leave already now Mom and Dad” face. ๐Ÿ™‚

So we survived the first day of school for each boy. Next week Art has his first day back to graduate school but we probably won’t take pictures. And if we cry it will only be over the amount of homework.

Stay tuned, because I have no doubt that Ryan’s adventures in Kindergarten will be many and worth sharing.

17 thoughts on “First Daze

  1. Awww….I got to do the 1st day over since we had hurricane day yesterday and my baby got on the bus and turned 5 all in one day!!!!

    Great photos!!!!

  2. Ahhh, how well I remember my oldest’s first day of school. He was absolutely ready to go, couldn’t wait for me to leave. As soon as I left his class, I started hyperventilating and shaking so bad I was afraid to drive home! I had to stay at the school for almost an hour to calm down!
    My second child was way different. She was ready, I was ready. Much less traumatic.
    Very nice pictures. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Awww that is so sweet and scary at the same time I know….mine will go into first grade this year and the other to Pre-K. I am excited and a little nervous at the same time!!! They are so cute girl and you know they are gonna have lots of fun!

  4. I have two more weeks till both start PK4 and mom’s day out for the first time. I am sure that whole morning to myself will be what makes me cry.
    BTW I found you, love the new blog. You can’t shake me, no matter how hard you try (insert evil laugh). I am a devoted reader since scrapbook.com days.

  5. i have butterflies in my belly thinking about zoe going on the 2nd. it just doesn’t seem real. only i won’t be taking her to school, she’ll be getting on a big giant bus outside and waving goodbye to me.

    at least then i’ll be very close to home in case i cry, right?? awesome pictures

  6. WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

    sniff sniff sniff…

    :’-(

  7. Awwww, I remember those days! I don’t even want to think of what I’m going to be like on Anna’s first day of Kindergarten!

  8. Awww! So bittersweet. (Cute pics though.)

    PS- You’ve been tagged (if you want to be). Come visit my site if you want to participate. It won’t hurt my feelings if you don’t.

  9. The story and pictures are great. Can’t wait to hear of the further adventures of Ryan and Sam at school. Hopefully, Daddy has recovered now (you too Mommy!!)

  10. Awww, so darling! And yeah, I feel your hubby’s pain. I turned thirty the day after my oldest two started school (one in 1st grade, one in Kindergarten) and a week before my 3-year-old started preschool. It’s very traumatizing! Who said it was okay for all of us to get old so fast???

  11. Pingback: Them with Me « Together for Good

Leave a Reply

