The Shepherd

I read this in my Bible study book, Life Principles from the Prophets of the Old Testament, and I thought it was worth sharing.  

“All we like sheep have gone astray . . . ” (Isaiah 53:6). With these words, Isaiah penned a powerful statement representative of all human nature, for indeed, our tendency to wander ismuch like that of sheep.  . . . In Matthew 18, in the context of His disucssion on church discipline, Jesus told the parable of theshepherd who leaves the ninety-nine sheep in the fold to go out and search for the one lost sheep. If a particular lamb were prone to wandering, sometimes the shepherd would have to break that lamb’s leg so it could not stray. During the period of convalescence while the bone mended, the shepherd would carry the lamb, reestablishing the relationship so that once he was healed the lamb would want to stay close. (p.72-73)

How many times have I wandered from God, and how many times has He brought me back to Him? My Shepherd will do whatever it takes to bring me back to Him, even if it means breaking my leg– or my heart– so that I am forced into closeness with Him.

He has never given up on me.

5 thoughts on “The Shepherd

  1. Thanks for this reminder! I have heard this before but it is hard to remember when you are in the midst of the ‘relationship building’. It reminds me to be thankful for the hurt, the pain and the discipline. IF it leads me back to Him. Blessings.

  2. Now I have to COMPLETELY REWRITE my paper, and it’s all your fault. 🙂 I forgot about those times that God punishes us. Does that make Him evil? Does that mean He uses evil? Or does evil come against us because of our own sin, and God just allows it as a way to teach us a lesson? Now you made me think. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

