Waddling for a Cure

Today was the 2009 Des Moines Walk to Cure Juvenile Diabetes. For me and my large belly and arthritic hips, it was more of a waddle. But we still had a lot of fun, although I must confess that a) I was very glad to sit down again and b) I’ve now gone for a walk three days in a row and my body is definitely protesting. I am WAY out of shape.

Anyway, this is the third year we’ve done this and the boys really look forward to it. We walk on the team of one of the girls who used to be in my daycare class and who has diabetes. I hadn’t seen her in awhile, possibly since last year, and she is now as tall as I am. Sigh.

Being that we are the cutest family in the universe, I am now going to provide you with many pictures of us. (I will spare you the pictures Art decided to take of me and Ryan from behind. My back end is at least as pregnant as my front end this time around). Enjoy.

Getting their hair sprayed fun colors is one of the traditions of the Diabetes Walk. This year both boys went with a lovely red and blue stripe. Also they had their faces painted by someone who only has a passing acquaintance with what a train engine looks like. But they’re still cute.

img_0914

And here I am, waddling along, being dragged by a very impatient six year old. Notice that the other people in this picture are not wearing the same shirts as we are. Every year we get separated from our team, usually because of Sam’s poky ways. But this year, I was more to blame. Ryan was not okay with us not being with our team, in spite of the fact that he knows absolutely no one on the team. For Ryan, there is a right way and a wrong way to do things, everything is black and white, and apparently falling behind the rest of Amber’s Awesome Angels was the wrong way. Oh well. We went at my speed, because I am considerably harder to move than he was hoping as he pulled my arm.

img_0922

I know the coloring in this picture is off. I am no photoshop genius. But seriously, it was just too cute not to include it.

img_0928

And here is something you rarely see Ryan doing– looking like my side of the family. My family may disagree, but I definitely think he is showing his Edwards genes in this picture.

img_0934

Sam is here enjoying his sugar free yogurt. They offer lots of treats, all sugar free. It is the diabetes walk, after all. Neither of the boys seemed to mind.

img_0936

And here I am enjoying my chair.

img_0939

As we were sitting there, the roof started to cave in, and then we realized that actually it was a drum group. The accoustics in that building are pretty crazy, and it was LOUD. But they were letting the kids have turns to bang on the drums, and Ryan tried it out. Believe it or not, he is actually having fun in this picture. Sam wouldn’t touch it.

img_0942

We usually try to get a family picture at this thing, but we neglected to this time. We did get a couple of Art, but trust me when I say you’re better off just using your imagination. šŸ™‚

We are very thankful for the chance to take part in this walk every year. Each year our walk raises thousands upon thousands of dollars for research for a cure.

And that is worth getting up early and waddling two miles around the skywalks of Des Moines.

7 thoughts on “Waddling for a Cure

  1. awe, how cute. i think this is so great that you guys do this as a family. and you are as hawt as ever, ms erin, you and your pregnant self. you go, girl!!!!! šŸ˜€

  2. So cute! It looks like you had a great time! And thank you for helping with such a great cause. My niece has juvenile diabetes and a cure in her lifetime would be awesome!

  3. These kinds of things are so good to do w/ you kids! Good idea! I’ll have to keep it in mind…Hot Dog, I could just start doing them now! šŸ™‚

  4. I looked at all my ugly pictures on the camera. It looks like I haven’t showered in a week. Or shaved. Or pretty much done anything useful. And why do I have nose hairs as long as a tree branch? Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

