My Six-Year-Old is Going to be the Death of Me

The following conversation is real. It took place last night between a sleep-deprived mother of three and her all-knowing six-year-old son.

Ryan: Mommy, Sammy’s not getting ready like you told him too.

Me: I know.

Ryan: How?

Me: Because I’m so smart.

Ryan: Mommy, why do you always say you’re so smart?

Me: Because I am.

Ryan: But Mommy, that’s boasting!

Me: Um

Ryan: Daddy said saying that you’re smart is boasting, and that’s sin.

**crickets chirp**

Ryan: Mommy, why do you boast and sin?

Me: Ryan, sometimes I don’t even know what to say to you.

Seriously! Any ideas how to respond to something like this? We’ve had issues with Ryan being a big braggy face. Like saying how he’s the best reader in his class or is better than Sam at stuff, whatever. I’ve always told the boys I know stuff because I’m so, so smart, I mean “because I’ve been Sam’s mom for 4 1/2 years and I know how he is when I tell him to do stuff” just seems like a long and ridiculous answer . . . but apparently that’s the answer I will now have to give.

And, for the record, the reason Sam was taking so long to get his pajamas on was because he thought his shorts were his shirt. And that doesn’t work so great.

Have a great Saturday, everyone.

12 thoughts on “My Six-Year-Old is Going to be the Death of Me

  1. That is so funny and typical. Our children will be the first (especially the smart ones) to call us on the sins we confront them on daily. After all, you can see the injustice of it from his eyes! Looks like you’re going to have to give him the long annoying answer from now on! πŸ™‚ Oh the joys of having smart kids.

  2. Chuckle. Tell Sam not to worry, there are old(er) ladies who think their undies are their shirts too!
    And i agree, the “because i’m so smart” answer always seemed like the right one to me too.
    I love your blog Erin. You give me great tickles on what could otherwise be some “un-ticklable” days. Thank you.

  3. I always tell them because I’m a mom and I just know these things!!Ha…but if I don’t then I tell them we will try to find the answer together. But sometimes it’s hard. Trent was having nightmares back around Easter. Comes to find out (at 3am), that he was questioning why if Jesus performed so many miracles, why didn’t he just save himself from dying on the cross? And how can we trust Jesus to help us when he didn’t help himself? All I could tell him was because that was God’s plan and that sometimes you do just have to blindly trust that what you are doing is the best thing. Then he wanted to know if Jesus went blind before he died…so sometimes the answer “because I am so smart or because I’m the mom” really IS the best answer! (Especially at 3am)
    Hang in there Erin πŸ™‚

  4. I think you should say, it’s because you’re a mommy and you have wisdom. How about that. Or you could say that you are smart, because you have already finished school. Not that everyone who has finished school is smart, but little kids don’t know that. πŸ™‚ When I was little and complained to my mom about something she did, she would tell me, “If you have a problem with me, tell God. He made me your mother.” I usually didn’t say anything else after that.

  5. I’m a mom of teens, who let her kids escalate things for so long without knowing how to stop it: How about not letting him engage you?

    Ryan: Mommy, Sammy’s not getting ready like you told him too.

    Mom: Yup.

    Ryan: What are you going to do about it?

    Mom: It’s not your problem, Ryan. Go get your shoes on.

  6. well if you wouldn’t be boasting and so darn sinful this conversation would never have taken place. πŸ˜‰

    LOL!!!

  7. Oh, my goodness, HILARIOUS. I can’t wait till my son can call me out on all my sin. *AHEM* – just kidding! πŸ™‚

    As far as being serious, I like the wisdom comment, and also the ignoring one, about ‘it’s not your problem’. πŸ™‚ Great input, seasoned moms! πŸ™‚

  8. Our boys have great theology. The other day when I was punishing Sam, I told him, “Sammy, I want you to know that I think you’re a good boy and I love you, but sometimes we just do naughty things and we have to try not to.” He nods with tears running down his face and wails, “I knooooooow! The Bible says ‘All have siiiiiiiiiiiiiiinned!'” Bwahahahaha!

  9. Pingback: My Shopping Trip Today « Together for Good

Leave a Reply

