Maybe If She’s Lucky She’ll Also Inherit My Sparkling Wit

I had nothing pressing tonight except for about six weeks’ worth of housework (and everyone knows that doing housework on Friday nights is practically illegal), so I decided it would be a great day to bust out my scrapbooks and play the “who-does-my-daughter-look-like” game.

ScanImage001

IMG_2320

It’s all in the eyelids.

IMG_3206

ScanImage004

For the record, that’s me, circa early 1979.

As I looked through my scrapbooks tonight I determined within myself that while I cannot do anything to change her genetic structure, I can at least do my very best to protect her from, well, this:

ScanImage005

There’s just so much there I don’t even know where to start. The mullet? The long wavy hair in the back (thanks to sleeping in braids)? The rocking glasses? The ruffles?

And of course, there’s this one–

ScanImage006

If I ever so much as see her looking at shoulder pads or Sally Jesse Raphael glasses, I will lock her in her closet until she forsakes her foolish ways. And let’s not even discuss the scarf. Can I point out that in this picture I was eleven? The good news is that once you hit a certain low, you can only go up.

I keep waiting to hit bottom.

Have a great weekend, everyone.

9 thoughts on “Maybe If She’s Lucky She’ll Also Inherit My Sparkling Wit

  1. OMG! i have the same triangle hairdo and glasses!!!!!! LOL!!!!!

    my poor, poor girls! if i showed you pics of them at birth and me, you would fall over from the resemblance.

    keep her from the triangle and she’ll do just fine, i’m sure πŸ™‚

  2. Wow…she does look like you although I have no comment on the later photos. I, unfortunately, have quite a few of those of myself. None with a scarf that cool though.

  3. I’m kind of shocked by how much she looks like you! And I’m also kind of shocked that you were brave enough to put those other two pictures up for the world to see. LMBO

  4. OMG she looks so much like you!

    Yes you were definitely brave with those photos. I cringe at mine!

    And now I feel really old having just realized you are as old as my oldest son… fainting now….

  5. Those pictures of you hurt my feelings. What horrible fashion. Isn’t it weird to think that back then that looked good! Yikes. I’m glad that I don’t have any horrible pics of me when I was a kid. Good thing flannel never went out of style!

  6. I swear I’m laughing WITH you, not AT you!!
    1979? Really, how can you be so much YOUNGER than me? Although you DID dress like a 40 yr old at the ripe old age of 11. Nice. πŸ™‚

  7. Oh, my word, I am laughing SO hard. My baby looks like me, too, and my hubby said he hopes it doesn’t continue through what I looked like in Jr. High – awkward!!!

Leave a Reply

