And Giveth Again

I’ve been a bit MIA from this blog this week, I hope you can forgive me Mom and Dad. 🙂 The truth is that I have been struggling with extreme exhaustion, which is lovely when one has just given up her morning cuppa, and work has been insanely overwhelming this week, and all things considered I just haven’t felt all inspiry.

Tomorrow morning I’m singing in church with a couple of pals (I get to sing the alto line which was actually written for a MAN– it’s so low it’s crazy), and the words of the song we’re singing have been in my head and my heart this week.

And so tonight instead of a post filled with my ramblings, I give you a post filled with the words of someone else, a post filled with words that could have been written just for me, just for this time in my life.

I hope they bless you too.

He Giveth More Grace
by Annie J. Flint

He giveth more grace as our burdens grow greater,
He sendeth more strength as our labors increase;
To added afflictions He addeth His mercy,
To multiplied trials He multiplies peace.

When we have exhausted our store of endurance,
When our strength has failed ere the day is half done,
When we reach the end of our hoarded resources
Our Father’s full giving is only begun.

Fear not that thy need shall exceed His provision,
Our God ever yearns His resources to share;
Lean hard on the arm everlasting, availing;
The Father both thee and thy load will upbear.

His love has no limits, His grace has no measure,
His power no boundary known unto men;
For out of His infinite riches in Jesus
He giveth, and giveth, and giveth again.

If that doesn’t speak to you, well then clearly you are not the mother of young children.

I am clinging to that promise today.

He giveth, and giveth, and giveth again.

12 thoughts on “And Giveth Again

  1. I first learned this song in the early 1960s, as it was often played on KHEP in Phoenix, AZ. The words spoke to my heart and my needs then, too. The third verse is new to me, though. The truth behind the words is that our Father DOES give the grace we need, when we need it.

  2. Thanks for the reminder. I needed especially the 3rd verse as my husband has been laid off for the 2nd time this year.

  3. What beautiful words! They actually brought tears to my eyes. I’m married to a professional musician. As you may or may not know, Michael Jackson is the only musician making any money these days, but somehow our needs are met, every time. And yet I still find myself forgetting God’s faithfulness. Thank you for this reminder.

  4. I’m not the mother of small children, but it does speak to me:

    it kind of sounds like someone chanting: “Just stay in bed!!! It’s not worth getting up today!!!! That’s my grace to you!!!”

  5. i hope your song has refreshed you… i love part about when we have finished up with our own resources, He has just begun.
    wow… what a reminder of grace!

  6. Thanks Erin for sharing that. I love the words to old hymns. Many of them ring so true, just as that one does. 🙂

Leave a Reply

