Sometimes I Can’t Really Think of a Good Title

I have to admit that life has been kind of, oh, I don’t know, stressful and ridiculous lately. I don’t like to be a big whiner in my blog, but to be honest, it’s really hard to be creative and witty when your joints are all painful and achy and arthritis-flarey. And also when your sweet darling baby girl has decided that sleeping at night is optional. And when your finances are, well, let’s just say complicated and leave it at that.

So I’m afraid that right now my blog is not full of brilliance and sparkly humor. I hope you can forgive me, and I ask you to pray for me right now. I’m very thankful to know that God’s mercies are new every morning, and, as our good pal Annie says, the sun will certainly come out tomorrow.

Meanwhile, I present a little bit of artwork by my kiddos. I’m afraid I didn’t get any adorable pictures of the boys painting because I was busy sitting in my chair in a big hunched-up arthritic pain-ball. But I think their paintings are cool so I scanned them and here they are.

This week is the fortieth anniversary of the Apollo 11 lunar mission, so we read this awesome book called Neil, Buzz, and Mike Go to the Moon— fabulous books for preschool/early elementary aged kids. Then the boys broke out the watercolors.

Sam’s picture is of a rocket exploding. Sam likes to draw and paint explosions. I don’t know why. I think it’s just because he’s a boy, but I kind of hope he outgrows it before he learns how to operate matches.

Sam

I think it’s a pretty cool picture, in spite of its gruesome subject matter.

By the way, tonight Sam was discussing his Very Own Castle, where he would get to be the boss. “Because I could do whatever I want if I didn’t have a Mom or Dad or Jesus.” And after much deliberation I have decided that this is hilarious even if it is slightly horrifying. That kid.

Ryan decided to paint a picture of the Lunar Module, which he copied from the book we read. This is the original picture.

original LM

And this is his painting. I think it’s a pretty good job for a six-year-old kid. Let me tell you, that little boy worked for about 45 minutes on this picture, and he was pretty much silent the entire time. It was kind of miraculous.

Ryan

Anyway, painting pictures was our activity of the day today, and I think the boys did a great job. Even when life is crazy, frustrating, painful, and overwhelming, even when my faith is being tested, these little boys sure do fill up my life with reasons to smile.

Have a good day everyone.

9 thoughts on “Sometimes I Can’t Really Think of a Good Title

  1. I love to see kids’ artwork. Thanks for sharing. 🙂 I hope things get less “complicated” for you soon!

  2. Sorry to hear you are a bit crippled up today. My hands were swollen pretty good and the joints hurting. The pictures the boys painted are just wonderful!! They are the perfect ending to a rather hum-drum day. Hugs to all!!!

  3. Make sure your dad sees this, he bought them that book, I think.

    I just yanked an INCREDIBLY long nose hair. Just FYI. It was about 3 feet.

    Love you.

  4. Maybe I’m reading into it, but I can hear the discouragement in your post. Hang in there, friend. Praying that you *feel* (vs. just knowing in your head) His grace being sufficient.

  5. I’m sorry that you’re going through such a hard time! Right there with you, especially with the complicated finances. I’m praying for health and healing, for times of refreshing, and for God’s perfect peace for you and your family. 🙂

    This is one of my favorite encouraging scriptures – I hope it can minister to your heart the way it ministers to mine:

    I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait on the Lord; Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart. Wait, I say, on the Lord! ~Psalm 27:13-4

  6. Cute pictures – sorry things have been rough lately – I know lack of sleep never helps me be cheerful! I think these daily activities you’re doing with the boys are a great idea, though! 🙂

    Thanks for the comment on my blog – glad it made you laugh!!! 🙂

  7. oh, I’m just reading this now, and adding my heartfelt encouragement.
    chronic pain, lack of sleep and life worries equals such a weight on the shoulders.
    your children radiate such beauty , lapping up all your good love… give a little to yourself, along with a cyber hug and prayers!

Leave a Reply

