Be Still

She is agitated and fussy and all I want is for her to go to sleep.

All she wants is to eat, and it is tempting to just feed her. But I know that if I feed her, she will refuse her milk in the morning and be difficult most of the day.

She is not truly hungry, she is just used to being fed when she cries out in the night.

I am trying to fix that problem.

I lift her warm onesie-clad body against myself and immediately she is quiet in anticipation of milk. When I lay back down on my bed, her on my belly, and cover us both with the blankets, she is not happy.

She lifts her head and cries out in anger. She kicks her feet and thrashes her arms and wails.

I rub her back and hush her and sing.

Be still and know that He is God.
Be still and know that He is holy.
Be still, Oh restless soul of mine,
Bow before the Prince of Peace,
Let the noise and clamor cease
.

And I wonder, how often does my heavenly Father draw me close to Him, to comfort me, knowing what I need better than I do, offering me rest, and I strive against Him?

How many times has He given me the chance to be still– to cease striving– and I have protested noisily, raising my head and proclaiming my own sovereignty, even as I prove again my deep need for Him?

Like my little daughter, crying out in anger when I offer her rest and love and comfort because it’s not what she wanted, I so frequently become angry and discontent in response to the precious and restful love of the Prince of Peace.

Be still and know that He is God.
Be still and know He is our Father.
Come rest your head upon His breast,
Listen to the rhythm of His unfailing heart of love–
Beating for His little ones,
Calling each of us to come
Be still.

Finally her little body is at peace. Her head lays on my chest, her breathing regular, surrounded by love and comfort and the person who only wants what is best for her.

And my restless, striving soul sees in her what it needs so desperately.

Be still.

~Song by Steven Curtis Chapman~

tuesdays unwrapped

16 thoughts on “Be Still

  1. Thank you for your sweet words of encouragement! I am trying to take in as many as possible before I board the plane, trying to leave the guilt behind :)!

  2. how can i never have heard that song by him? i love that vers… be still and know… i repeat it to my heart and mind endlessly! and i loved your words on it today, erin! (although sleep probably would have been nice, too!) today, again, i will remind myself to stop protesting and to fall into His arms.

  3. I wonder if I print this out and plaster it on my walls I will remember it the next time I’m railing against God. Maybe if I wallpapered the mirror? Or how about the back of my eyelids when I’m trying to fall asleep…! Oh, man I needed to read this today!

    Thanks sister.

  4. I really like SCC. 🙂 I know, personally, that I do my fair share of kicking and thrashing when I expect one thing and get another. Human nature I guess. But during those moments when I allow the Spirit to seep into me I feel a sense of patience and reverence. Then the blanket stays on and I rest.

  5. beautiful. makes me smile, reminding me of a the times i held my baby and sang this song over her, and God stilled my own heart.

    do you want to hear the sweet story- our emilie (now 10) was born 7 weeks premature. at one point during her stay in the hospital we were told her heartbeat was too fast, she was on oxygen, and they needed her heart rate to regulate. so we prayed. the lyrics to this song were marinading my heart that week, God telling me to “be still, KNOW that He is God.” and i prayed, “Come rest your head upon His breast,Listen to the rhythm of His unfailing heart of love– Beating for His little ones, Calling each of us to come
    Be still.” and i asked that emilie would rest her tiny head on my God’s breast, that her heartbeat would become His heartbeat.

    and moments later the nurses returned and said her heartbeat has regulated, and we replied “we know.”

    our God is so good.

Leave a Reply

