#94

Today we went to the apple orchard (pictures to follow tomorrow, I’m having too much fun playing with them in PSE and I’m not ready to post yet), and so tonight was the perfect fall night to try to make a pie.

I have never had success with pie; in fact, my husband has made more successful scratch pies than I have in our marriage. 🙂

My sister said she would help me via the phone, so this evening after dinner she called and walked me through my Grandma’s pie crust recipe.It was super easy (way easier than I expected), and I used it with this recipe to make a very yummy apple pie.

IMG_7130a

Chilly fall air– apple picking– cheddar soup– homemade biscuits– fresh apple pie– checking one off the list–

Not a bad day, huh?

Grandma’s Pie Crust

1 3/4 c flour
1/2 c oil
1 t salt
3-4 Tbsp cold water

Mix flour and salt with a whisk.  Add oil, and mix with fork until stiff (about 30 seconds).  Add water, and mix with fork.

White streaks in your dough are perfectly normal.

Roll the dough between two pieces of saran wrap so it doesn’t stick to your rolling pin.

7 thoughts on “#94

  1. Apple pie is the best! I bottled about 18 quarts of pie filling from my apple trees last Fall. I may have to break one open tomorrow! mmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  2. Can hardly wait to try the pie crust out! I’ve never heard of putting oil in the dough or using or saran wrap! Sounds like it mkes it easier to roll out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

