Name Them One by One

It’s been a bit of a rough few days around the Together house. Financial difficulties, which have never been a stranger, have run up against us with their weapons of fear and despair and frustration, and we have found ourselves in one of the worst situations we have ever been in.

I don’t want to go into the details now, because honestly, it doesn’t matter. What truly matters is this.

He knows.

And although there is one very large, very specific financial need that we have not yet seen met, He has blessed us and beaten back the weapons of the enemy with His own precious reminders of love and faithfulness.

They are too good not to share. Our God is so good.

Even when we are at the bottom of a pit we have created for ourselves, our God is so good.

Some little blessings we have been counting the last few days:

1. Our back passenger van door has been stuck locked since before Little One was born. Last Wednesday it randomly made a weird noise and popped up. It has been working ever since.

2. A toddler bed I’ve been trying to sell on Craigslist for more than a month finally sold on Friday. All the lady had was ones to pay me with, and she was so embarrassed that she gave me $5 more than I had it listed for. When does that ever happen?

3. I was cleaning on Saturday and found $20 I didn’t know I had.

4. Art was cleaning yesterday and found $15 he had forgotten about.

5. A dear friend and mentor surprised me with a latte on Thursday, when I hadn’t had time to make coffee and was in dire need of a caffeine fix.

6. Our car died on Sunday. Not the good news. But it happened in our driveway. It could have died any time while we were on the road to and from church that day.

7. One of our church’s missionaries (and son of one of our church families) is home with his family right now to raise support, and he is apparently a car genius and has given up a significant amount of time and energy to try to get our van running again.

8. Last Wednesday, I received an email from wordpress that said my blog was on the home page of wordpress.com. And it was! I had more hits that day than I usually have in three weeks. And lots of weird comments, let me tell you! I don’t know if any of them will ever come back again, but it was just one of those little things that encouraged me on a difficult day.

9. I came downstairs earlier today to see Stinky on the floor with one of his toys, singing “Count Your Blessings.” How can I not?

I am blessed. We do not know how all of these needs will be met, but we do know this– He loves us and cares for us and promises to meet the needs of our hearts, and those of our bodies.

And for these small things, I give thanks.

I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. — Psalm 27:13

tuesdays unwrapped

15 thoughts on “Name Them One by One

  1. Sounds like you’re in a season of being “tempest-tossed,” trying hard not to get to the point of being “discouraged, thinking all is lost.”

    I do love that song. And its message is a good one. Thank you for taking the time to actually list so many blessings here for us to count with you. A wonderful reminder!

    Every blessing,
    Richella

  2. hey friend, thanks for sharing your heart… I’ll be praying for you and thanking God for continuing to remind you that He knows exactly what you need.

    And congrats on the wordpress exposure… How fun!

  3. there are tears in these eyes of mine…
    i am familiar with that pit… of our own creation. i hate it. hate it. but it is mine, and i have to take ownership of it (which is probably why i hate it so much)
    but the blessings…. oh, the blessings. He is good. and it hurts my heart to think of the people who do not know Him… and are in a mess and have no light beyond their own pit.
    i am praying for you. for your family. for your van. right now. one more voice couldn’t hurt 🙂

  4. That is one of my favorite verses! 🙂 I have to rely on it far more often than I’d like, but I guess that’s the point.

    I’m with you on the financial difficulties part, sister. But I’m also with you on the part where I know that God is good, that He meets all our needs. Thank you for sharing your hard place – you encourage me to hold on! And know that you’ve got another person praying for you. 🙂

    Another particularly encouraging verse for me lately: Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.
    Romans 15:13

  5. praying God provides, rescues, and continues to show himself to you.

    thank you for choosing to see God’s grace in your days and for sharing it with us blog folk. thank you for choosing to “believe the goodness of the Lord”

    and we have been there $ financially. oh how we’ve been there!

  6. Erin, my heart’s going out to ya. You’ve got me humming that good old baptist hymn and remembering the ways God providently provided when we had no way out. Those who put their hope in him will never be ashamed.

  7. Girl, your faith is shining bright, and that warms my heart. God is good even at the bottom of the pit I dug myself…been there and can’t get over His provision. It’s one thing to have Him provide during the trials that inevitably come…but to have Him provide when we could have avoided the mess…a true picture of mercy and grace. that is the God we serve. Loved your post!

  8. Thanks so much for stopping by to visit me today at my site 🙂 Thanks also for reminding us that God is present and active…everything you describe seems way too much to be coincidence! It is always encouraging to hear stories of god’s faithfulness

Leave a Reply

