Shadows and Sunshine

My facebook news feed this week has been full of sad things. Stories of people going through so much pain, such grief. It seems that the older I get, the sadder the world is. I know it’s been this way all along. But now, without my parents or my own self-absorption to shield me from it, I am realizing some of what it truly means to live in a sin-cursed world.

Sometimes I look at this blog and think just how insignificant it really is when there are people fighting cancer, watching their children suffer, making life and death decisions for their loved ones, sending spouses off to fight, planning funerals for people who shouldn’t have died.

What difference does a trip to the pumpkin patch make?

How can I intrude upon the world with my little meaningless ramblings when so many are experiencing so much pain?

It feels so shallow to post pictures of my daughter just being cute right above someone’s urgent prayer request for a dying friend.

I don’t have the answers. I never have. I have walked through the valley of the shadow of death. I know that I will walk through it again. I do not understand why God leads us through that valley.

I do not understand why He leads us to mountain peaks, either.

My sweet bloggy friend Sharon is hosting a joy party on her blog today. I have struggled trying to reconcile my own joy in the light of the grief and sadness so many I know are experiencing. I don’t know if I can, honestly.

But I think that God brings us joy to remind us that heaven is waiting. Heaven, with no more tears, no more sorrow, no more pain, no more goodbye.

Heaven, where even if we still don’t understand, we will be able to look at Him and I honestly don’t think our understanding will matter much.

Heaven where our bodies will not feel the curse of sin, the sting of death, because those things have been swallowed up in VICTORY.

Maybe He gives us joyful times to keep us through the dark times. Maybe He gives us joy to remind us of Him. To show us His love. To teach us that we can trust Him.

I don’t know what tomorrow holds. My family, my home, my children, my friends– they are not really mine. They are God’s, and He will do what He wills. And no matter what happens, I will be able to remember the joyful gifts that He has given, and savor those sweet memories.

So here are some sweet, sunshine moments between Bubs and my mom– Just for the Joy of It.

IMG_7675

IMG_7679

IMG_7680

IMG_7682

IMG_7684

IMG_7686

Whatever season you are in– whether you are walking through the valley of shadows or basking in the sunshine or laboring somewhere in between, I pray that you will find joy today.

Stop by Sharon’s blog for more stories of joy.

JustfortheJoyofitcopy

14 thoughts on “Shadows and Sunshine

  1. I talk to my husband about these feelings of weight and sadness when so many others are suffering, and he (bishop of our ward/congregation) often reminds me that we can feel sorrow and compassion, but then the Savior’s sacrifice is meant to deal with the rest. We are not built for it. So rejoicing in our own joys after being a good friend is what we are supposed to do. I can tell you have a big heart.

  2. It’s hard to imagine how the world really feels under the weight of these hard & sad things…those without Hope! It is our Hope that allows us to offer compassion & encourage others in their deepest times of need…thru our Hope perhaps they will see that there is a greater Hope to come.

  3. THanks for stopping over and visiting!!! I was telling Sharon that I have started up a little carnival on Wednesday’s called “Wonder Why Wednesday” just in case your interested in linking up…Have a great day!!

  4. Wonderful photographs! I understand your feelings of guilt, but at the same time, maybe your happiness (and mine) will touch those in mourning and offer a ray of sunshine to the darkness they face. That’s my motivation for keeping it positive, as much as I can.

  5. i am. scripture says , “i will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, i will enter his courts with praise.” i know if i want in those gates, into the courts then i HAVE to praise, have to thank God for his goodness in my life. and even in the sadness and confusion it is there, everyday it is there.

    your pix are wonderful.

  6. I hear ya, Princess…so, so true. You wonder how to post about something so silly when you know of all the heaviness around. I’m so with ya. But, on the other hand…why I read posts from friends…just to lighten things up a bit and remember there are things to learn and be thankful for amidst the storms of life…so, your posts are good pick-me-up’s if you ask me…not insignificant AT ALL.

Leave a Reply

