Trying Out a Fix-It Friday

I’ve been following the blog I Heart Faces for a few months now, and one of the features they run there is called Fix-It Friday. They give you a picture that needs some work and then you get to play with it and see how you would make it better.

I’ve been playing along for a little while now, since I got PSE5, but I haven’t been happy with my results till today. So I’m gonna share.

Here’s the original:

original

And here’s my fix:

fix

Here’s what I did, best as I can remember–

Sharpened her irises

Adjusted the lighting in levels

Upped the saturation a bit

Used the healing brush and clone stamp to fix some of the bruises on her shins (not perfect)

Dodged the highlights in her eyes

Duplicate layer–

Desaturated new layer so that the leaves and things in the background were less vivid

Used a layer mask to reveal the girl on the bottom layer

Added warming filter

Merged layers

Duplicate layer–

Filters- Render- Lighting Effects- added omni light to her face

Changed blend mode to multiply

added layer mask to reveal the girls’ eyes

Crop and sharpen for internet

********

I had a lot of fun. Now head over to I Heart Faces to see the work of people who actually know what they’re doing. 🙂

Fixit2

6 thoughts on “Trying Out a Fix-It Friday

  1. Excellent work! I have been using PSE5 for several years now. It looks like it is working just fine for you. I’m still working on using layers.

  2. Aw! You did well, Princess! 🙂

    I entered this week as well…and it’s my second time entering. 🙂 Fun stuff…how’s the PSE5 working…obviously fine! 🙂 Haha…we have PSE…I dunno if there is a number, but it’s on our old computer right now…and totally freezes up everytime I try. Last year, I messed with it some before it was acting up…and I was catching on. But, using it now is a headache with all the freezing and so forth. So…you’ll see my admission and humility on my page… 😉

  3. Where are you getting your knowledge from? Did you take classes. I’m usually pretty good at learning new software, but for some reason I’m having trouble catching on to PSE6 (which is the version I have, I think)

Leave a Reply

