Gifts of Joy

I haven’t been feeling fabulous this week (or for the last few weeks, for that matter), and I was very much inspired to just sit in my chair all day feeling sorry for myself and ignoring the beautiful November day. But thankfully I have a five-year-old who is seldom inspired to sit around doing nothing, so I was forced into my walking shoes, into the van, and down the road.

We had a beautiful day for a walk– with bright blue skies and vivid sunlight. Not so great for taking pictures, so you’ll forgive the funky shadows.

IMG_8149

I thought the rings on this tree stump were beautiful.

IMG_8151 copy

It was actually three tree trunks melded together. I’m sure there’s all kinds of deep things I could say here, but I’ll just stick with isn’t that cool?

IMG_8189

We found this bridge, and what is it about bridges? My boys just love them. Maybe it’s the echoing noise they make as they run back and forth. Stinky had fun pushing Little One in her stroller on the bridge.

IMG_8196

She waved her arms around and generally seemed to enjoy her wild ride. Then I simply had to take her out of there so I could take some pictures.

IMG_8217

It’s a little known fact that babies love fall foliage.

IMG_8216

If he were your kid, you would have totally caved when he wanted to go do something fun, too.

IMG_8220

Tell me that face doesn’t just turn you into a big pile of mush?

IMG_8250

I. Adore. This. Picture.

You know, it’s funny. I was trying to decide what to give today and decided that I would be extra super generous and give Stinky my time for a couple hours.

IMG_8225 copy

But I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that it was I who received the greatest gift.

IMG_8298

Isn’t that just how it works?

I’m a little late in the day, but I’m linking up to Just for the Joy of It over and Good, True, and Beautiful today.

Thanks, son, for getting me out in the fresh air and treating me to some joy today.

15 thoughts on “Gifts of Joy

  1. i love the last shot. sometimes i think those little ones are the only ones that can pull us from the funk… we move on because we have to. for them. i love that you begrudgingly gave… and received tenfold. bee-a-u-ti-ful.

  2. Boys and their bridges. Mamas and their children. Wonderful fall days. Sounds like near perfection to me! It’s always amazing to me that the “sacrifices” that we make for others (like doing something when we don’t feel well) actually bless us the most many times.
    Good job, Mama!

  3. I can’t tell you how many times, at the end of the day, I’ve said “thanks for making me do what my initial, lazy attitude didn’t want to do.” My inherent default is lazy — so getting out and about always take a little more oomph! But, like you, I love it when I do it!!

    hope you’re feeling better.

  4. Gorgeous pics and it looks like a beautiful day. We are having one of thos days here too and I need to motivate my butt to get outside 🙂 This is a helpful kick in the right direction. Thanks!

    Thanks for stopping by and visiting my blog.

  5. Good stuff! Love that last one of your li’l girl…shots like that are worth the awkwardness of getting them! Haha! And that one of the two that you adore…what’s NOT to adore about that shot! SO GOOD! 🙂

Leave a Reply

