Background Music

I always have music playing in the car when I drive. Always. I used to be a talk radio gal, but since my children learned to talk I find music to be more beneficial than more talking.

You know those songs that they play on the radio all the time that you kind of ignore? I mean, you could sing the chorus if you thought about it, but they don’t stand out when they come on your favorite station. I have several songs like that. Honestly, most of the music they play on our Christian station is just background music to me. If one of the few songs I love comes on, I pump it up and dance around or get in my own little mostly-Baptist-I-swear praise and worship session. But most of the time, I just let it play in the background while I contemplate my contemplations (because what else am I supposed to contemplate?)

And then, every now and then, the words of one of those songs just pops out and BAM. God hits me with the reminder I need.

I was driving in my van for work the other day– picking up kids from school to take back to the daycare. I work at a Christian daycare, so I usually have the local Christian radio station playing in an attempt to drown out the extreme failing that is usually ocurring in the back seats. I was driving down the road when all of a sudden the words of the song started screaming at me– there will be a day with no more tears, no more pain, no more fears . . .

I don’t know how many times I’ve heard that song, hummed along with it, but in the midst of the stress of my life that day, those words were exactly what I needed. I started to get a little teary there on First Street, but thankfully I had a nine-year-old boy full of incessant questions in the back of the van to pull me out of my emotional crisis.

It came on the radio again today, as I was driving to work, and I listened to all the words, and I sat in the parking lot of the daycare and cried. Because the last month or so has been hard. Because sometimes, I honestly don’t want to get out of bed and face the day because I know it will be hard. But He has promised that someday, He will wipe all the tears from my eyes, and erase my pain and all the worst-case scenarios and bad dreams and sleepless  nights.

He is always good, always faithful, always true. And sometimes He uses what I just thought was background music to remind me of His goodness, His faithfulness, His truth.

I try to hold on to this world with everything I have,
But I feel the weight of what it brings, and the hurt that tries to grab.
The many trials that seem to never end, His word declares this truth,
That we will enter in this rest with wonders anew.
But I hold on to this hope and the promise that He brings:
That there will be a place with no more suffering.

There will be a day with no more tears, no more pain, and no more fears.
There will be a day when the burdens of this place
Will be no more; We’ll see Jesus face to face.
But until that day, we’ll hold on to you always.

I know the journey seems so long, you feel you’re walking on your own;
But there has never been a step where you’ve walked out all alone.
Troubled soul don’t lose your heart, ’cause joy and peace He brings;
And the beauty that’s in store outweighs the hurt of life’s sting.
But I hold on to this hope and the promise that He brings:
That there will be a place with no more suffering.

There will be a day with no more tears, no more pain, and no more fears.
There will be a day when the burdens of this place
Will be no more; We’ll see Jesus face to face.
But until that day, we’ll hold on to you always.

I can’t wait until that day where the very one I’ve lived for always
Will wipe away the sorrow that I’ve faced–
To touch the scars that rescued me from a life of shame and misery.
This is why this is why I sing–

There will be a day with no more tears, no more pain, and no more fears.
There will be a day when the burdens of this place
Will be no more; We’ll see Jesus face to face.
But until that day, we’ll hold on to you always.

~~~song by Jeremy Camp and Jeremy Thomas~~~

Background music being brought to the foreground and touching my heart– that is the gift I am unwrapping today.

 

9 thoughts on “Background Music

  1. oh i love this song… this promise. and i know… as i am driving along in my own litle world, He often shows me something big. and i am amazed all over again… that He has come to seek me out and remind me of His Goodenss…

    this week one of our friends got good news. great news. and what came to mind was God is Good. All the Time. and i thought to myself all the time? and before the thought was done being thunked, i realized that the answer was yes. in the hard time He sustains us… and it made me smile. i sure hope your good news is coming soon…

  2. Ooh, thank you for sharing – the first time I heard that song was right after I heard that Jeremy Camp’s wife had had a miscarriage…he’s been through so much sorrow, losing his first wife & all…and I just could not stop crying! It is a beautiful & true song.

  3. I love this song, too. This is a great post. There are a lot of songs that I sing along to throughout the day, but when I actually stop and let the words go through my heart, not just my ears, it takes me to a whole new place. THank you for sharing and for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

