Ye Have Not, Because Ye Ask Not

It’s so obvious. How many times have I withheld something from my children, waiting for them to simply ask for it?

How many reminders to say please, tell me what you need, use your words have I given, all the while desiring so deeply to give them what they want?

Such a simple thing.

And yet I look at the needs around me and think how will we ever meet this need?

How will we ever afford new tires for the van, pay off that doctor’s bill, buy new shoes for everyone?

And oh so gently, my Father, who desires to give me every good thing, reminds me. You don’t have because you don’t ask.

So I pray for needs to be met. Small things. Big things. Specific items that aren’t just hopes or wants, but are needs. Well, maybe a few luxury items slip in occasionally.

And He provides.

Last week, Little One got weighed, and imagine our surprise when we discovered she weighs twenty-two chunky little pounds.

Imagine my dismay when my sister pointed out that she had probably reached the weight limit of her carrier car seat.

Car seats aren’t exactly cheap, you know.

I panicked a bit, then felt that gentle nudge. You have not because you ask not.

So I asked. I asked God for the money to get Little One a carseat that would keep her safe.

Today, a check came in the mail. We had overpaid at the dentist sometime last spring.

The amount was exactly what we need to get that new seat.

God is good. And He wants to give good gifts.

And He wants us to ask for them.

 

11 thoughts on “Ye Have Not, Because Ye Ask Not

  1. shazam! That is the best!

    Last month I made a whopper of a mistake with some plane tickets — ending up costing us $150 it didn’t need to… BIG OUCH in our tight budget.

    Guess what showed up in the mail that day? My first check from blogging… $148.78. Every penny went to fill the hole that my blunder had created. I thought it was pretty funny that God provided for my need AND kept me humble at the same time!!

  2. that’s so awesome when God does things like that – I’m so happy for you!!! I don’t know if you saw my blog, but He provided similarly for us, too – we needed a double stroller for the baby, sometime in the next couple months, and this morning I got an email & I had WON a double stroller in an online giveaway! 🙂 So exciting!!! 🙂

  3. Awesome! God is so wonderful! I understand my relationship with God as my Father so much better now that I have kids! I can just imagine God saying to me “Use your words child!”! 🙂

Leave a Reply

