I’ll Make You Wish for More Haiku!

So maybe you’ve been wondering what I’ve been up to. Maybe you’re starting to wonder if I’m going to post nothing but poetry on Together for Good from now on.

It’s tempting.

Apparently, unable to capture my world with my camera, my mind is finding new (or old, I guess) ways to express itself. Namely, poetry.

Seriously. I was filling up the daycare van with gas the other day and composing haiku in my head.

I can’t remember any of them, but they were super good. You’ll just have to trust me on that.

But you can rest assured that this is not about to become a poetry blog, because I have way too many snarky things to say that really just don’t fit well into the feel of poetry.

Just forgive me if it’s a little poetry-laden over the next few weeks, until I have a camera back in my happy little hands.

So what have I been up to, other than pondering life in seventeen syllables and mourning the death of my Rebel?

Well, I’ve been writing a lot of words on little cards and then drilling a certain seven-year-old on their spelling. Because back in December, when his teacher called, I was all Oh sure, that would be awesome, we’d love for him to participate in the spelling bee in February!

Yeah. That was before I saw the million-page list.

And also, same kid has a speech meet next month and has to learn a poem that is a whole blog post worth in and of itself. Let’s just say, Shakespeare would cry if he had to read it. Or think about it. Or be in the same room with it.

Back in the day, I was the Queen of the Speech Meet with my rockin’ version of Shel Silverstein’s “Hungry Mungry.” So I have high expectations and I’m kind of afraid I’m turning into one of those moms with my hand-motion prodding, bad-rhyme reminding, facial-and-vocal-expression coaching, do-it-over-again-and-do-it-right ways. I don’t want to be one of those moms, but I also don’t want my kid to embarrass me himself.

I know that though my dramatic poetry reading skills are incredible, Bubs is well able to fill those shoes.

In other news, Little One is going to make us all pull our hair out with her pulling-up-and-cruising ways. And while being bald would certainly help in the gray hair department, I’m not sure it’s quite the look I’m going for.

And today we had an ice storm. It was slippery. And cold.

(I’m just doing my best to make you appreciate the poetizing of the last couple days.)

Good night y’all. Real content, coming again soon to a blog near you.

3 thoughts on “I’ll Make You Wish for More Haiku!

  1. sorry… i’ll take your rambling over a haiku πŸ™‚ i was without a camera for about six months… and while i did miss it, it was freeing. to be able to just enjoy the moments instead of worrying about capturing them. but i do hope you can get a camera in your hands soon πŸ™‚ because spelling words and speech memorizing sure can make you crazy! good luck! and looking forward to hearing about Bubs’ speech… becuase i just know it has got to be great πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

