Unwrapping Time Together

We have a plate of cookies, a mug of hot chocolate for me, a mug of hot cider for him.

Before us is spread a game board, rooms marked off, weapons scattered across its tiled corridors, suspects lurking in the corners with their odd color-themed names.

He makes me laugh with his Monk impersonation as he announces, “Here’s what happened.” I make him laugh by using my sultry Miss Scarlet voice on his unsuspecting Professor Plum.

We talk about everyday nothings, which is a wonderful change after all the deep checkbook and childrearing conversations we’ve been having recently.

We play footsie, and we listen to music, and I solve one mystery and he solves the other and Miss Scarlet commits them both.

It costs us nothing but an hour of weekend time.

But three days later, I’m still unwrapping this gift.

********

Linking up today not only to Tuesdays Unwrapped, but also to Project 52. One hot date down, 51 to go!


20 thoughts on “Unwrapping Time Together

  1. Man, are date nights crucial or what? You guys are doing it right trying to get in the habit of time together now, when things are making it almost impossible. Good job!

  2. I am looking forward to what you have planned for our date night this friday. If you want, I can reveal my Gandalf impersonation and play the Lord of the Rings version of “Risk”???

  3. It is so awesome to read about date nights. So many couples don’t take this time for each other and it is so crucial. Sounds like you had a great time.

  4. i always forget how just a little bit of time spent with my husband goofing off, sharing each other’s company can carry itself through days. we definitely need to do this more often!

  5. Sweet!
    I love date night!!

    I share a new dating idea every Friday on my blog called
    ‘re-ignite date night’ I’ll be linking this weeks to your post as inspiration for this week, if you don’t mind…??

    I think it’s SO awesome that you made a simple game more interactive and therefore more memorable!! 😉

  6. I totally thought I commented on this last night, and then I realized…I didn’t. What I _thought_ I said was that I love date nights, and they can’t happen too often enough! Or I guess they technically could, but they don’t, anyway. I love that you sat there drinking hot chocolate and cider and playing Clue. Do you also watch the movie while you play? Because that would be like a dream night for me. 🙂

    You’ve reminded me how much I’m looking forward to my five year anniversary get-away this weekend!! Not that I forgot, I just got distracted with all the stuff that will happen before then. 😛 Hooray for hot dates with husbands!

  7. This sounds like such a nice time. I love the idea of playing this game. I am going to have to search out some games I think. Thanks for sharing. Love your writing style.

Leave a Reply

