Date Night #3– Relaxing

Last week was an entirely stressful and miserable kind of week.

I didn’t really share much of it here, because I expect you all get a little tired of hearing me whine. Plus, some of it was personal.

Still, by Friday night I was exhausted, emotional, and just generally a disaster of epic proportions. It was Art’s turn to plan our date night, and I have to admit I wasn’t very excited because all I really wanted to do was go to sleep.

My husband knows me well, though, and he knew all about my terrible week and the stress and the tiredness and the fact that I felt like collapsing. So he had planned a spa night.

I laid on the couch and he rubbed my back and neck and arms and shoulders and legs and feet and hands with lotion which later made his eyes get all puffy and allergic. He lit a candle and played relaxing music and even painted my toenails.

And then– I woke up.

I had fallen asleep on the couch for an hour.

So I went to bed.

And it was wonderful.

Sometimes the simplest things mean the most.

12 thoughts on “Date Night #3– Relaxing

  1. haha! eric swears that i fell asleep on our first date 🙂 and there is something so special about a guy who just doesn’t let it get to him when his girl is snoozin’! hope this week is brighter for you

  2. What a guy. I must admit I got a little teary. And when I read it to my husband even he sighed. That either means he also thinks Art is awesome or he feels like a big fat loser for not thinking of this himself.

  3. i need a spa night too. what a sweet husband. and he was so in tune to your needs. that’s great! hope you have a better week this week. thanks for linking!
    tiffany {Simply Modern Mom}

  4. so sweet. we had a similar type of week. so good to hear how your husband loved you. it is good to be loved. to have our husbands see us, and love us. what color did he paint your toe nails?

    i’m guessing hot pink!

  5. Our date was a bit this way. My husband awake… me asleep! Wonderful that you could relax this much after a lousy week and that your husband could do such a beautiful job of making you feel so relaxed and … loved.
    Hope things are a lot brighter for you in the next week.

Leave a Reply

