This is Not a Fairy Tale

Once in eighth grade I had a dream about a guy I knew. It was a good dream. One of those dreams that feels so real that when you wake up you’re sure it must have really happened.

I hate dreams like that.

When Art and I first got married, I had a dream that he suddenly turned into a complete jerk who just kept telling me he didn’t really love me, it wasn’t a big deal, he just didn’t want to be married to me anymore. The dream Art was just so cold. I woke up crying and woke him up with my sniffles and he cuddled me and assured me of his love but it was so real I was shaky all day from it.

Sometimes dreams just mess with you, and my eighth grade sleeping romance did the same. In my dream he had held my hand and said I was beautiful, and when morning came I was sure I was in love.

I spent another year pining away after him, and I’m fairly sure that he had no idea I was even really there.

Of course, in a fairy tale, he would have had the same dream, and the next morning at school, time would have stopped and music would have swelled (swollen? snort) and a beam of light would have shot straight from the heavenlies as we ran into each other’s arms, never again to be parted.

Life is not a fairy tale. And I’m glad.

Because looking back, almost twenty years after eighth grade, I’m glad that that dream didn’t come true.

I’d rather be here in my messy, noisy duplex with my messy, noisy kids and my wonderful husband (met in college, not in junior high) than in any fairy tale castle.

Although, I wouldn’t mind having a fairy tale figure.

I’m just saying.

********

Linked to Flashback Friday at Mylestones. Today’s prompt was love. Maybe I’m stretching it? I just wasn’t in the mood for deep today. ๐Ÿ™‚

15 thoughts on “This is Not a Fairy Tale

  1. Very cute post – I’ve not been over this week; I’m so bad.

    I had a dream once that I told Pete I wanted a divorce, and he let me go. Because he thought I really wanted to. I just wanted him to fight for me, tell me he still wanted me. I have never sobbed in a dream before or since so hard as I sobbed in that dream. You’re right. It messes with you. I still want to cry thinking about it…

  2. I had a dream like that right before my husband and I got engaged – that after we had been dating for a while, he decided to bring in a bunch of other girls, like The Bachelor, and he would choose between us. Oh, I was so furious when I woke up, it was hard not to be mad at him all day! Now I think it’s funny ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. haha! i’d like her figure, too!
    but i’m with you… there was this boy that i thought for sure was for me, forever. and i’m so glad that dream did not come true. God has me just where i’m supposed to be!

  4. My subconscious is REALLY bizarre, so yeah, I’m with you on dreams not coming true being a good thing.

    “Iโ€™d rather be here in my messy, noisy duplex with my messy, noisy kids and my wonderful husband (met in college, not in junior high) than in any fairy tale castle.” Hear hear! Also, because most fairy tale castles have singing kitchen ware, and I just wouldn’t be okay with that.

  5. Isn’t there a song that says “Some of God’s greatest gifts are unanswered prayers”. Lord help me if all of my dreams and prayers came true!

    So glad you found your sweetie!!!

  6. Oh. Those dreams. From time to time I dream that my husband wants a divorce. I wake up so mad at him on those days. He just shakes his head and loves me more. Glad you found your true Prince Charming!

Leave a Reply

