We’ll Be Walking

For the last three years, our family has participated in the Des Moines Walk to Cure Juvenile Diabetes. We started walking because one of the girls in my daycare class at the time has Type 1 Diabetes, and we have continued to walk on her family’s team ever since.

Last year, a little boy at my daycare was diagnosed with diabetes. And one of my friend’s twin boys was diagnosed as well.

If you’re not familiar with Type 1 Diabetes, it’s not the kind you get because you’re fat or eat too many milkshakes. It’s the kind that kids get– kids who are otherwise healthy– kids who, unless a cure is found, will be dependent on insulin every day for the rest of their lives.

They test their blood sugar over and over again every day. Imagine giving an 18-month-old boy a finger poke that often. They get insulin shots, or wear a pump which delivers insulin automatically but must be changed every three days. By the child. They count every carbohydrate they eat. They have to skip fun treats and meals because of their diabetes.

It upsets their lives and their childhoods and their families and their meals and everything they do.

They deserve a cure, and that’s why we walk.

Would you consider making a donation to support me and my family as we walk next month? You can make a donation as small as $10 online by clicking this link or the one in my sidebar. If you’d like to help, but can’t afford $10, leave a comment with your email address in it and I will get you the address where you can send a check.

I hope you’ll consider it. Let’s give these kids a chanceĀ  to live a normal life, free of test strips and glucose tablets and insulin shots.

8 thoughts on “We’ll Be Walking

  1. My dad had Type 1 diabetes, and the disease (with its myriad, torturous complications) took him away from us when he was only 67.

    I’ll be walking with you in spirit, my friend.

  2. i always think of my sister’s friend josh, from pre-k… i remember being in awe that he not only had to get a shot everyday, but had to learn to do it himself. i wonder where he is today… hopefully walking for this cure! way to go, my friend!

  3. I’m doing the Des Moines JDRF walk, too! My husband (now age 40) has Type 1 Diabetes and wears an insulin pump. It’s a quiet disease that many people don’t see from looking at a person. But I truly cherish his health more I can ever say.

    Good luck on the walk, and with your fundraising!

  4. I’m so glad that I saw a friend on Twitter RT the link to this post! I am the dad of a type 1 diabetic. My son Samuel who is now seven was diagnosed at 17-months old, and we do the Walk here in Sarasota, FL every year. I am blessed when I see others like yourself do this stuff for friends… so THANK YOU!

    I usually don’t like to share links in other people’s comments, but I just really thought that you would enjoy the video that I do on my son’s behalf every year….

    Thank you again, and God bless you!

  5. Thanks!

    People who care enough to do this, bring me to tears. Every day I pray that Benjamin will see a cure in his lifetime! The research is SO promising.

    Debbi

  6. Erin,
    As someone who deals with Type 1 diabetes on a daily basis I say thank you for going out and walking to help support finding a cause.

Leave a Reply

