Her Eyes

I started noticing it back around Christmas time. I tried to ignore it, but eventually it was very obvious it wasn’t going to go away.

I took Little One to her pediatrician, who recommended that we take her to a pediatric ophthalmologist.

Dr. Spencer did all kinds of things to examine my sweetie’s eyes, and in the end, informed me that my ten-month-old baby girl needs glasses.

I had really hoped she was just going to need a patch for a few hours a day. I have to admit that putting my busy, curious, mischievous, trouble-finding little lady in glasses was not exactly what I was hoping for.

In the grand scheme of things, a pair of glasses isn’t that big of a deal. But I admit I am having a hard time covering up her beautiful blue eyes with glare-catching lenses.

Maybe I just want perfection for my girl.

I want people to see how wonderful she is, not just look at her and see a pair of pink frames.

But it is what it is. It could always be so much worse. I know that.

Today Little One’s glasses arrived.

They did not automatically make her smarter.

But it’s possible that they are adding to the cute around here.

Look at her. Isn’t she hilarious? 🙂

And I couldn’t leave this picture out. She was really trying to get the camera. And she just looks so dorky.

No doubt she fits in this family just fine. 🙂

And the glasses?

Well, I think we’ll get used to them.

17 thoughts on “Her Eyes

  1. What a sweet baby! I’m sorry for the glasses (I have a personal loathing for them), but they don’t seem to diminish her “cute” one iota!

  2. Oh. My. Word. If possible, she got even more adorable with glasses! How did you do that?? (and she does LOOK smarter, undeniably. Let her milk it!) 🙂

  3. she is being so good at leaving them on.
    i like the little piece that rest on the nose…i want one of those for my glasses.

    still cute
    still see the pretty blue eyes…yea!

  4. She IS perfect, Erin 🙂

    God doesn’t make mistakes, He creates us exactly the way He wants us to be. It’s not always the way we perceive perfection to be, but it is in His eyes. After all, He is perfection and incapable of making mistakes and she was created for His glory.

    I’m right there with ya on the glasses for myself and my kids. She looks like Rylee now. Her eyes still shine through. She’s BEAUTIFUL. ❤

    I can't believe she is that big already. WOW.

  5. She’s adorable, and I don’t know how anyone could miss those big blue eyes. She is being really good about leaving them on. I don’t think I could get my son to leave glasses on for a minute! Does she have a strap or something around the back so they don’t fall off?

  6. ya know, i had to come back and just look at her again. how comes she still has her cheeks and you haven’t squeezed them off yet??? she is sooooo adorable!!!! i love looking at your kids, they have the prettiest eyes, the brightest smiles and love just radiates from their faces. or maybe it’s because mama and daddy are great photographers 😉 i’m not sure which it is LOL!!

    i hope i didn’t come off as sounding insensitive awhile ago, it wasn’t meant that way, when i re-read it, it didn’t come out the way i wanted it to.

  7. But, I’m so curious. You know what they put us through, the is this better or this better thang? How did they know what she rx she needed? Darling pics. I love that she doesn’t yet have a bridge of a nose to rest them on, she has a button nose for sure.

  8. baby glasses. i know. my daughter’s were clear with pink and blue music notes… and it makes me thankful how far kids glasses have come! and your little sweetie is beyond sweet in her new specs. perfect… even though somehow something squeezes our hearts and tries to tell us differently! how old was Bubs when he got his first pair? anyway… now she looks oh-so-cute and quite smart 🙂
    is she keeping them on? is it a struggle? or… is it as the doctors say… if they notice a difference in what they see then the kids keep them on? my laura was awful about hers…..

  9. A friend of mine thought something might be wrong with her son’s eyes, but didn’t do anything until he was 2 or 3. Even then she thought the eye dr. couldn’t be right. . . her son couldn’t needed glasses. On the way home from getting his glasses, he suddenly blurted out “Look Mommy, there’s people on that sign!” She told me she pulled the car over to the side of the road and cried. She had no idea his vision was that poor. Thankfully, they were able to discern before Little One gets any more mobile. She was brilliant before, just think how smart she will be now that she can see clearly!

  10. I’ve been wrestling a bit with something like this myself – B has a developmental issue where his ribs aren’t expanding in his chest the way they should. It’s nothing serious, just cosmetic, but I keep wondering if I could have done anything to make it better, to keep him “perfect” the way he was when he was born.

    Sigh.

    Such is the meaning of living in this dust.

    Your daughter is adorable.

  11. Pingback: Some Saturday Blah Blah Blah « Together for Good

Leave a Reply

