Almost Sort of Like Spring

We have had a week or so of warm temperatures and rain. The snow is almost gone.

Almost.

Instead of snow, we now have swampland where the grass used to be. Also, lots of random clumps of mud. And puddles.

But still, it’s not -30, and it’s not raining, and today for a moment or two the sun came out, so we ventured out as well.

Of course, the minute we went outside, the sun went behind the clouds and a cold wind kicked up.

No matter. We are Iowans. We’re not about to let a little thing like windchill affect our chance to get some wiggles out!

This kid? LOVES being outside. LOVES the wind in her face. I can’t wait for truly warm weather so she can swing at the park and go down the baby slide. Girl is gonna love it.

Another week of weather like we’ve had, and all those snow piles will be gone. Of course, I’d love some melting that’s due to warm temperatures and sunshine instead of rain rain rain!

Still, mud season comes before spring here in Iowa, and we’ll take what we can get. Until there’s grass to run through, we’ll be taking walks. Lots and lots and lots of walks.

Gotta get those wiggles out somehow. šŸ™‚

In random news: the other night I wasn’t feeling well so I plopped down on the couch to watch Anne of Green Gables. I informed the boys that it’s a girl movie but they could watch it if they didn’t talk or ask questions or complain. Well, they got a bit into the story, so tonight I let them finish it. I think the best way to sum up what happened next is through haiku.

The sweet old man died
Left my little boys weeping
More than my mom did

Yup. That about covers it. They were still sniffling when I packed them off to bed half an hour ago.

Love this family.

Can you blame me?

14 thoughts on “Almost Sort of Like Spring

  1. I am going sooo stir crazy! It was war-ish and sunny last week, then all of a sudden a snow storm yesterday. That’s Spring here in the Rockies.

  2. Your kids are just plain adorable..but you already knew that! šŸ™‚ Miss Gracie Girl is just too cute with her specs..not that she wasn’t cute before..but you know what I mean! šŸ™‚

  3. Hey Erin … Nice to “meet” you, Iowa girl. I wave to you from the far northwest corner — Lyon County. wave-wave-wave …. Thanks for your visit over at my place. Took me a while to get over here, but I’m glad I made the trip. You have a lovely blog.

    And our part of the state is finally in meltdown mode, too. Heard birds singing for the first time in a long time the other day.

  4. 1. The Little One’s glasses are aDORable. I didn’t think her eyes could be any prettier, but they look bigger with the glasses and it’s just the cutest!

    2. Anee of Green Gables is what got me to de-lurk? Really? Hmm. I wonder what that says about me? Anyway, you should have seen my husband the first time I “got my Anne on” after we got married. He got totally sucked in. Result? Our Dog’s name is Gilbert.

  5. I always cry when I watch Anne now. I remember who I was before I was grown up…

    So glad for some spring for you.

    (Thanks for your visit today, and for your prayers. We have found a church – there is so much more to this story I cannot tell yet, not because it is bad, but because I don’t know. I haven’t decided to bring it on blog yet. The writing would probably help…)

  6. mud season? sounds… delightful šŸ™‚
    but i am glad you got to get outside in the real air and get the wiggles out! love the pretty pink header and her smiling eyes!

  7. Oh, I LOVE that your boys loved Anne of Green Gables! That is my favorite lying-in-bed-sick movie. Or tv show. Or whatever it really is.

    Also, I have say that Stinky in that second picture looks like a miniature grown-up. Adorable.

  8. Ah…I grew up in IL, transplanted in AL years and years ago. Strange the things I miss…slush mounds and spongy dark earth. I love these photos and can feel that wind and know that restless stirring. Crazy I know but thank you so much for sharing your walk with me. Absolutely awesome way to begin my day.

Leave a Reply

