Slapdash Saturday edition 6– Saturday is a relative concept, right?

Okay, this is so lame. At this rate the next Slapdash Saturday will happen on a bleak Wednesday in November, 2014. But oh well. I have nothing special to post, and lots of slapdashery, so here goes nothing.

Friday and Saturday we had our garage sale. It was a fun day, mostly because we had it at someone else’s house and she actually has a garage and also that meant I wasn’t stuck outside alone all day. In fact, all of us participating sellers had kids, so it got a little crazy from time to time, especially when everyone decided they were hungry. But it was a good time. I made over a hundred dollars which has been squirreled away for what my husband and I call the Schmoozy Weekend of Love and Romance– AKA the “SWOLAR” (it’s fun to say and we are nothing if not fun). The SWOLAR will be happening four weeks from this Friday, thanks to my awesome parents who are going to take the kids (LOVE YOU TWO!). We are very excited. So far the plans include not waking up at 6:30 because all the kids are up and also not doing laundry. Sounds delightful, no?

But before the SWOLAR we must deal with five more weeks of school, a fellowship at church that I am speaking at Friday night and have no. idea. what to say, two week-long seminary modules (for my hubby, not for me, thank goodness!), Memorial Day, and lots and lots of laundry. LOTS. Also our tenth anniversary, which is the twentieth, smack in the middle of one of my husband’s classes. Woo-hoo.

Squeezy Bug is walking more and more these days. It’s kind of disconcerting to just see her toddle by with her crazy pigtails sticking straight out of her head. Very cute. She also learned to say “Good Girl.” Which she says quite often as she is doing something completely naughty. Also, I have decided that her blog nickname shall be Squeezy Bug. It’s something we call her in real life, I don’t know why, but it works. Likely to be shortened to Squeezy quite often.

Bubs has taken an interest in magic, in addition to detective work, and believe me when I tell you a fabulous blog entry cannot be long in coming. Possibly even with video. A vlog, if you like that sort of thing. I am quite delighted at the prospect, and you should be too. Trust me.

In other thrilling news, the other night we were at the park and there was a mama duck and her eight bajillion little baby ducks. She was herding them away from us out into the water, when all of a sudden one of them went streaking out across the pond.

It had been hiding along the edge, and I couldn’t believe how fast it moved. Mama duck was not too happy with her  naughty little duckling, and proceeded to peck it violently on the head. I totally related with Mama, having a Stinky of my own who likes to explore and get a little too far behind. Unfortunately human mothers are not encouraged to peck their children violently on the heads when they don’t keep up.

Have a good weekend week, y’all.

6 thoughts on “Slapdash Saturday edition 6– Saturday is a relative concept, right?

  1. Ha, I used to do Free Dress Friday blog posts any day that I felt like being totally random. So I heartily approve of Slapdash Saturdays on Mondays or Thursdays at midnight or whenever the fancy strikes you 🙂 Also, I like Squeezy Bug, I think it suits the Walking Wonder. 🙂

  2. why is that? What would be so terribly wrong with a few violent pecks on the head of the screaming toddler? Seems like mama duck has figured something out there, huh?

    (happy anniversary, good luck with the public speaking and give squeezy bug a squeeze for me)

  3. I really love the picture of the baby ducks. When we are in stores, I always tell the kids to be ducklings and follow closely. (If I tell them to be a train, they fight over who is the caboose.) Anyhow, I like the idea of pecking their heads when they stray. Gonna keep that in mind next time we’re at Walmart.

  4. you know i love your randomness… everytime! SWOLAR sounds amazing… and maybe you can think of a thing or two to add to your to-do list 🙂 although 7am and no laundry sounds fabulous! enjoy your anniversary… and your good girl! looking forward to the magic detective show!

Leave a Reply

