Not Your Typical Father’s Day Post

I am a believer in the wife submitting to her husband.

I know that perhaps that’s not a popular idea. I know it’s not politically correct.

I know it’s difficult, almost impossible. I know that no husband is perfect, and if he were it would make it no easier to submit.

I don’t think submission means being a doormat. I believe it means loving him more than I love myself, and therefore allowing him to take the leadership role, and honoring him in that.

I believe it means respecting him in front of my children, my friends, my family, my church, my blog readers, my facebook friends and twitter followers.

I believe it means sharing this life with him, working as a team, giving my opinions with love and gentleness, and then allowing him to make the final decisions when we can’t reach an agreement.

I am only just starting to understand what submission means, what ramifications it has for our marriage and home. I think that for me, submission has a lot to do with money. For you it might be different; it probably is. No two marriages are exactly alike.

And when it comes right down to it, I am blessed by this call to submit, because the man to whom I am called to submit is a man who recognizes God’s call on his life to love and lead.

Happy Father’s Day, sweetie.

It is an honor to be your wife.

7 thoughts on “Not Your Typical Father’s Day Post

  1. There can be so much freedom in submission, believe-it-or-not! I know you believe it but not everyone does. Of course it’s so much easier when you have a wonderful, godly, intelligent, loving man to submit to.

    Happy Father’s Day to yours!

  2. Girl – you are spot on!!!! Submission is such a touchy topic for many, but it is something God has called us to do! It has taken me many years to understand what submission really is and I fail miserably most days. But every morning is new and I try again. Happy Father’s Day to all the daddies!!!!

  3. Erin, I think you hit the nail on the head here! Submission is definitely a blessing, but unfortunately, it usually takes us wives some time to realize that!

  4. I admit, I bristle at the “submit to your husband” language. But I really do like your point here, and it’s given new meaning to the age-old Biblical text about wifely submission. I thank you for that!

  5. you all are so cute…

    submission… yeah, I’d have to write a whole post about my take on that. 😉

    I hope your Father’s Day was good. I’m planning to do something for my husband this weekend. But shhh. He doesn’t know that. 😉

Leave a Reply

