Slapdash Saturday, edition 13– I have no idea.

So our internet connection has issues, and after much investigation it appears that the issues are currently unsolvable, at least by us, so we are just going to have to deal with having a connection that only exists when it feels like it.

Translation: this post may or may not ever get finished or posted.

I am honestly having a hard time even knowing what to write. When I don’t blog for awhile, I get out of the habit, and all this stuff gets backed up and bottlenecked and then none of it wants to come out in a way that makes sense. But I feel like I need to post, that there are things I need to say, and I want to say them. I probably won’t say them today. I’m hoping that if I get some of the slapdashy things out of the way, the important stuff will get itself a little more cohesed in my head. And if that sentence didn’t make sense, now you know why I am having such a hard time posting in general.

So.

We are finding a new routine here, and really enjoying summer break so far. I changed my hours at work so I can be home more, which I am loving. My kids really are the greatest and it is so much fun spending time with them.

Monday I took them to the library because they were having a magic show. My kids love magic, so they were pretty excited about that. Squeezy was a little devil during most of it, so we hung out in the hallway while the boys were wowed by the guy’s neat tricks. They came home full of ideas for magic tricks and no way to do any of them, which is pretty typical.

We picked berries this week, and played at the park. It wasn’t really that thrilling, except that it was. Just hanging out, doing summer things. This is good. It’s what I’m learning.

Thursday we made pretzels and had them for lunch.

It was messy and the pretzels were more like blobs but the boys loved doing it.

Yesterday we had planned a family day with a trip to the Ledges, but a nasty cold and some nasty storms stuck us inside instead.

So we played games.

(Can you believe how long Squeezy Bug’s hair is getting?)

The boys got so loud during Uno that we played one “whisper round.”

Anyone who talked above a whisper had to draw a card.

I think Squeezy earned the most cards, but she just eats them so we didn’t give her any.

Little Cheater.

We were going to make our own pizzas, using dough from my neat new bread machine, but someone forgot to put the yeast in, so FAIL.

Instead we got a take and bake, and we watched Meet the Robinsons. We had so many interruptions that it took almost 2 1/2 hours to watch a 1 1/2 hour movie. And today the boys really want to make time machines, which led to a fascinating lunchtime discussion about God and time.

Fascinating for Art and me, anyway. I’m not sure the boys really appreciate it when we get into theological discussions at the table. Which might be why we do it so much. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyway, this post is just some of the fluff that’s meandering around my too-full brain these days. If the internet cooperates, and if I have time, I will try to share some of the bigger stuff soon. Although, honestly, this family, this fluffy what-we-did-this-week stuff, it really is the bigger stuff.

Maybe that’s why I’m having issues. ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, and before I go– I have been the worstest hostess in the history of the universe when it comes to Flashback Friday. We will be back next week, with a linky and an actual post, even if I have to steal the neighbor’s wireless to get it done (JUST KIDDING. But I will go to the library if I have to). And our theme will be Summer Camp or Camping. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you’ll join me! ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on “Slapdash Saturday, edition 13– I have no idea.

  1. It looks like a great summer at your house so far! I know what you mean about losing the jive when you don’t blog for a while. I’m having the awfullest time lately.

    anyway, happy summer.

Leave a Reply

