Of Father’s Day, Failure, and Front Teeth

Yesterday was a busy day in our house. Sundays tend to be that way anyway, but yesterday was even crazier than usual.

Art didn’t feel well, so he stayed home from the morning service and drank tea and read books and missed us dreadfully. At least, I’m sure he did, even though he didn’t actually say so. What’s not to miss, right? πŸ™‚

In the afternoon, the kids gave their presents to their Daddy.

Squeezy gave him this giant straw hat. I swear it was totally her idea and she just absolutely insisted on buying it.

She is just turning into the weirdest little thing. πŸ˜‰

Stinky chose a flashlight from the dollar store as his gift.

Gotta give Daddy kisses on Father’s Day!

Bubs had a box of handmade and other gifts in addition to his chosen storebought gift, which was a watch from the Dollar Tree.

Included in this picture with my handsome hubby and a very giggly seven-year-old are two bookmarks Bubs got from the one hundredth day of school, a homemade card, and the giant brown “treasure hunt for love.” All his own idea.

a Treasure Hunt For Love

Let’s go on a treasure hunt, but it’s a different kind, a treasure hunt for love. The dereacsion’s are: not the west, south, East, north, east, West, south, northeast, West, on the treasure hunt for love. You love yoour family, Mom, Bubs, Stinky and Squeezy Bug on the treasure hunt for love. You will not find in the treasure box gold nor jewls just love on the treasure hunt for love. And on fathers day theirs speshle love for you, on the treasure hunt for love [signed] Bubs

That is true quality creativity right there, people. πŸ™‚

Art’s making a weird face in this picture because the flash was giving me fits and Bubs had to hold the kiss for a long time and according to Art, guys aren’t supposed to hold kisses. Which means that Bubs has apparently graduated to “guy” stage. Not sure I’m okay with that.

Last night the boys and I sang in church. It was the first time we had ever done so, and I made sure there were charged batteries in the video recorder and gave Art strict instructions to record the cuteness. Except I put the battery in upside-down and therefore we have no recording. I have requested a tape of the service (tape!) but it will probably be a couple weeks, and then it will have to be transferred to a digital file (tape!), which my dad will have to do and will probably be a couple more weeks, but I promise that someday I will have a recording of it on here. Because they did such a great job. Bubs sang a solo and he did beautifully. He has the nicest little voice. So, succeed for singing in church but FAIL for me and the Flip batteries.

After we got home from church last night, we had a little family business to attend to. And by “we,” I mean Art. And by “family,” I mean Stinky.

After much grossness and some blood, Stinky is now the owner of a giant gaping hole where his lower two front teeth used to be.

And I am the proud owner of a giant gaping hole where my heart used to be. My baby! He’s just such a handsome big kid all of a sudden.

Oy. Sigh.

Those two little teeth did not come in at the same time. In fact, for a few weeks he only had one tooth, and it was just the darn cutest thing you have ever seen. And now– well, he traded them in for some shiny pocket change from the friendly neighborhood tooth fairy, and he seems to think it was a fair trade.

I have to admit, I’m not so sure.

(If you’ll forgive me, I’m now going to go cry quietly to myself for awhile).

5 thoughts on “Of Father’s Day, Failure, and Front Teeth

  1. What a great day! I loved reading about it. And the pictures were precious.

    Come on over for some mom inspiration and encouragement sometime.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Of Father’s Day, Failure, and Front Teeth Β« Together for Good -- Topsy.com

  3. love love love that treasure hunt! and i love his sweet little soul! and those little squeezy bug pig tails? tooo cute πŸ™‚ thank you for not sharing the blood & grossness πŸ™‚ and sorry to agree… but missing those teeth sure does make him look like a big kid! hope the tears did not last too too long πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

