Slapdash Saturday, edition 15 and 16– Two for the Price of One!

So apparently I have this thing here called a blog, and apparently I am supposed to write things in it. Who knew?

I’d like to say that the reason I’ve only posted twice this month is because I have been saving the world or writing the next Great American Novel or knitting sweaters for underprivileged children, but the truth is that I’ve been doing laundry, and washing dishes, and going to the zoo and the park and the library, and making obscene amounts of food for two growing boys, and celebrating the Fourth of July, and all sorts of non-heroic things.

I’m okay with that, and I hope you are too. My family has to be of first import in my life (after God, of course!), even above blogging, as sad as that is.

(Although y’all come in a close third behind my family and sleep.)

So. I have about a bajillion point five pictures to show you, since it’s been so long. The good news about that is that my kids are cute. The bad news is that my internet connection is so slow that writing this post is likely to take me about four hours.

Deep breath.

Two weeks ago this coming Tuesday we went to Big Creek Park and the kids got to play on this gigantic castle-like wooden play structure. It was next to impossible to get a decent picture, thanks to the extremely bright sunshine and dark shadows, but Squeezy was cute through it all.

Big Creek has a beach, but we weren’t there to swim. Art took Squeezy down by the water though, and she thought it was pretty cool.

I think they’re pretty cool.

On Tuesday, June 29th, Art took the boys to what was supposed to be a hike hosted by one of our local park organizations. The experience was what we refer to around here as a “fail.” They couldn’t find the group; most of the trails were under water (we’ve had just an eensy bit of rain recently), and the mosquitoes were out in force. Still, they did some exploring and Art took some nice pictures, which you can see if you visit my poetry blog.

On July 3rd, we went to the Living History Farms for day one of their Independence Day celebration. They had free root beer floats, live music, and some old-timey games the kids (and grown ups) could play.

Squeezy was resplendent in her red, white, and blue outfit.

(Well, maybe not resplendent, exactly. But stinkin’ cute, if I do say so myself!)

The boys had fun trying to walk on stilts.

Art actually did figure them out and walked a little way on them. I didn’t even try to get up on them. Some adventures are not meant to be had by people with RA. Ha!

The boys also got to play this water relay game. Super fun. Bubs especially was entirely soaked by the time they were done.

Saturday night I took the boys to the fireworks while Art stayed home with Squeezy, who is scared of the hand mixer. We kind of decided that maybe fireworks wouldn’t be her new favorite thing. I didn’t take pictures of the fireworks, but you’ll have to trust me when I say they were great and the boys were awesome. 🙂

Sunday we all dressed in red, white, and blue and went to church. Squeezy got to wear a shiny pretty necklace, which made her happy. She was seriously adorable.

See what I mean? Her little shirt says “Lil’ Firecracker.” Fits her perfectly! Ha!

Tuesday we got rid of our loveseat, which is totally not exciting, except the boys thought it was so I thought I would just put it out there. I listed it for free on Craigslist and some nice people came and removed it for me and all I had to do was move the dining room table and chairs out of the way. Our living room feels much bigger now.

And then Wednesday, oh Wednesday. Wednesday we took the kids and their friends to the zoo. It was epic. We are terrible about having people over or doing “friend” activities with our kids. But Wednesday, we prevailed, and I even made cookies.

The zoo trip really deserves its own post because I took about seven thousand pictures, but if I don’t post these today I’m pretty sure I never will and I did not spend hours of time editing them and putting my little watermark on them so that they could sit in a folder on my laptop and mock me.

But I’ll try to post only my extra very favorites.

Checking out the giraffes. Notice how well my own sons are obeying my directive to smile. Sigh.

This was the snow leopard exhibit, and we spent quite a while there. Most of my pictures from the trip are similar to this– all the kids’ backs. But they are cute little backs. 🙂

This was the last we saw of Stinky all day. 😉

Isn’t this a cute picture of Bubs and his pal T? Unfortunately, the thing that had them so mesmerized was camel poo.

Boys.

This is the groundhog exhibit. There are two tunnels that the kids can crawl through, and then they pop out in the middle of the hill where all the little prairie dogs live. One of the groundhogs was putting on a nice little digging show, too.

This was my attempt to get a group shot of all the kids. It would be pretty good too, except poor little J is over there all by her lonesome! I had her move over, but by then they were all a bit tired of posing.

Except T. He kept smiling like a trooper. 🙂

So I finally gave up and went back to more pictures of their backs.

That one might me my favorite from the whole day of all the kids. They were very interested in the sea lions.

We paid exorbitant prices for nasty little food pellets, and the kids got to feed the goats.

If Stinky wants to marry J someday, I am totally fine with that.

Cuties.

I had to include this picture of J drying her hands after feeding the goats, because she was so cute and giggly.

I know you can’t really see much in this next picture, but I have to share it anyway. This is by the river otter exhibit, and the otters were putting on quite the show, and Squeezy was entirely enthralled by it. Super cute.

Pay no attention to the disembodied hand and arm.

T did an excellent impression of a flamingo.

Checking out the jellies.

I think this of Bubs and T is pretty cute.

Squeezy is a fan of splashing in the water.

The obligatory swinging bridge shot. I swear I have one of these from every single trip we’ve ever taken to the Blank Park Zoo.

And one final attempt at a group shot.

I love the expression on T’s face here. My kids are used to having the camera in their faces all the time, but I think by that point poor T just thought I was loony. Ha!

Anyway, if you’re still with me at this point it’s kind of miraculous. I’ll try not to get so behind on blogging again so as to not bombard you with this much whatever this was all at once. And you’ll be glad to know that I have another post for later this week already written.

And that I have about six million animal pictures that I didn’t share but want to, so that might be coming soon to a blog near you.

Also, I spent several hours doing homeschool planning this week and HOLY COW it’s a bit overwhelming. But I think I’m starting to get a handle on what we’re going to do, and I feel really good about it. The kids are getting excited too.

Also? This macaroni and cheese is really good.  Just make sure you drain the noodles really, really well.

And also– Bubs started studying Spanish while he was in the Christian school, and I’d like to continue his studies, but I am having fits finding any kind of basic elementary curriculum that doesn’t cost hundreds of dollars. If you know of anything, could you let me know? I’d really appreciate it.

If you’ve stuck with me this long, you deserve a reward.

I trust this picture of a llama will suffice.

6 thoughts on “Slapdash Saturday, edition 15 and 16– Two for the Price of One!

  1. wow you have been busy! darling pix.

    i haven’t even begun to look at home schooling and what we’re doing this next year..august…i will in august.

    personally i like to have a yearly plan so i know we will get through all our books by the middle of may. often i try some things at the beginning and throw them out, so don’t be surprised if that happens too.

    have i mentioned how i LOVE story of the world and math u see??

    THOSE ARE MUSTS!

    my kids need to learn spanish. many parent like rosetta stone. we have glanced at prima latina as well.

  2. I totally dreamed last night that I visited your family. I drove there, which is kind of crazy since I am maybe 2000 miles away. 🙂

    Glad you’ve had a fun couple of weeks!

  3. sometimes you just have to put that family before blogging! sounds like a heck of a month so far! i loved so many of your shots, and i had so much to say along the way- but i forgot to take notes. but i do recall squeezy’s little legs from way back up at the top and my-oh-my are they cute! keep having fun…

  4. I seriously went to your facebook page so that I could nag you for pictures of Gracie’s thighs. And then I saw the link to your blog and voila! Squishy thighs! Yay!

Leave a Reply

