Slapdash Saturday, edition 20– The Don’t Worry, I Didn’t Need That Lung Anyway Edition

I am sick. I have a miserable summer cold, and my head is stuffed and my nose is stuffed and also I cough all. the. time. And I require sympathy, so please give it to me. I am a big wimp.

My husband’s sister’s family left Monday morning to drive back to their home in Michigan. We have a nice little pile of things they forgot which I may or may not be holding hostage in hopes that they will return to get them. Never mind that they may be moving to Pennsylvania, which is in the WRONG direction.

My mom came on Monday evening and stayed till yesterday, when I drove her home. It was nice having her here, even though she was in the area for work so we didn’t see much of each other. That didn’t stop us from making the most of the time we had together by staying up way later than was healthy, solving all the problems in the world, and shopping at the Goodwill. I love shopping at the Goodwill with my mom. Usually she buys. 🙂 We got Squeezy a dress to wear for Christmas that is seriously adorable. No sneak peeks for you, though. You’ll have to stick around till December to see the cuteness.

Yesterday I drove Mom home and came back with my parents’ old couch in the back of my van. They got a new couch so they let us have their old one. Which, honestly, was just the hugest blessing. Our old couch was awful. And falling apart, literally. It was a sofa bed, so I figured Art would need a couple guys to help him get it out of the house, but this morning while I hid upstairs with the kids he dismantled it, loaded it in the van, moved the new couch in, and then drove the old one to the dump. I love that man. And my new couch, which doesn’t try to eat me when I sit on it.

I didn’t take a single picture this week. Not for lack of a desire to. I lost the memory card of my camera. I’m pretty sure it’s somewhere in the abyss that surrounds my chair. Maybe tomorrow I’ll move everything out of the way and see if I can find it. Then I can take a picture of my new couch. And also my right middle toe, which looks really weird. I thought maybe it was arthritis but now I think I might have broken it. It’s hard to tell with me. It hurts though and it’s leaning toward my big toe instead of away from it like the middle toe on my other foot.

Aren’t you sad I can’t find the camera?

In other news, I got a new MP3 player this week, and words cannot express the happiness this has brought to me. I have had BAD luck with MP3 players. I won one through the Arthritis Foundation two years ago when I participated in the Arthritis Walk, but it just randomly quit working after like a month. Then for Christmas that year (2008), Art got me a new one, which worked for about a year and then the screen went dead, so I can’t use the menu, and somehow it got stuck on some recording of a book that I think was a sample that came on it. So then I saw one on slickdeals, which I ordered, but it was backordered, and by the time it was ready to be shipped the money that had been in the account was no longer there (I blame McDonald’s caramel frappes for that), so the order was canceled. And then I told this entire sad story to my dad a couple weeks ago, and he gave me an old player of his, but after I got all the music on it we discovered that there’s some kind of short in the port for the headphones and it only works about 60% of the time.

So needless to say, when I found an MP3 player on slickdeals for $15 I got it. And it works. And it has a whole bunch of music that I deeply love and that Art can’t stand. And it makes me so happy.

Thursday I went to the first meeting of the school year of the homeschool group we have joined. It’s all very exciting. I was telling the boys today that there’s a field trip right in the middle of the first week of school. They got talking about all the exciting field trips we were going to take this year, and how we were going to take way more than they do in regular school, and I think that perhaps in my eagerness to get the boys on board with the whole homeschooling thing I may have inadvertently given them the impression that they were going to spend all their time visiting exotic locales instead of, you know, practicing handwriting and doing addition and stuff.

I’ll let ’em down easily.

Of course, if I don’t get my books chosen and ordered we might have nothing to do except field trips. Ha!

I have a mosquito bite on my foot.

Finally, if you look to the left of this post you will discover a new button on my blog that says “facebook.” If you click on it, it will take you to my brand-spanking-new facebook page for this here blog. I do hope you’ll visit my page and click “like” so that I don’t have to feel like a loser with no friends.

pretty please? With sugar?

Okay. Done begging. Done blogging. I just sneezed all over my keyboard, which I’m pretty sure is a universal sign that it’s time to get off, get drugged up, and go to bed. Have a great weekend everyone. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Slapdash Saturday, edition 20– The Don’t Worry, I Didn’t Need That Lung Anyway Edition

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Slapdash Saturday, edition 20– The Don’t Worry, I Didn’t Need That Lung Anyway Edition « Together for Good -- Topsy.com

  2. Hang in there my friend! I hope you feel better soon. And the new to you couch sounds wonderful… and I hope your toe heals quickly. And wanna get a frappe at McyD’s? My treat. Oh darn. YOu live in Iowa. Why don’t you move to Upstate NY sometime soon? You’d like it, I promise.

    (ps I already like you, but I’ll click on the button to prove it!)

  3. Okay so I’m not on Facebook so I can’t “like” you, but I do anyway. Since I’m not does that mean I’m the loser with no “friends”?

    That must be why I only have 9 followers on my blog.

Leave a Reply

