Voices

Mommy, look here, see, I know which part of the Titanic was longest after it sank. It’s the bow section, see Mommy, because it broke here behind this funnel . . .

mmm-hmmm . . .

Mom, do you think when we’re homeschooling that we’ll get to go on field trips every day? . . .

No, honey, not every day, we have to actually do school work sometimes . . .

SHOES! SHOES!! . . .

oh, I see the shoes sweetie. No, I don’t really want to hold them. Are you stinky? Let’s change your diaper . . .

Mom, Squeezy tore my paper . . .

I’m sorry sweetheart, I’ll get you some tape after I change her diaper. Squeezy, come here . . .

Mommy, I know how to say “Save Our Ship” in Morse code; it’s dash dash dash dot dot . . .

No it’s not! It’s dot dot dot dash dash dash. . .

that’s what I said! . . .

no it’s not! . . .

yes it is! . . .

Hush, stop fighting. It doesn’t matter. Squeezy, I think you blew out again . . .

Mommy, look at this, it has the numbers in Morse code too– Mommy look! MOMMY! . . .

Stinky! I am trying to change your sister! You have to wait! Hold STILL, Squeezy . . .

ohhhhh, soft! . . .

Yes, Mommy’s hair is soft, don’t pull . . .

Mom, the phone is ringing, it says it’s Dad, should I pick up? . . .

Sure, Bubs. Squeezy, HOLD STILL! . . .

Mommy, look at this . . .

Mommy, Daddy wants to talk to you . . .

MOMMY MOMMY MOMMY! . . .

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him . . .

6 thoughts on “Voices

  1. life happens, even when your homeschooling.

    i’ve always said i have a love/hate relationship with homeschooling. love-because i’m with then 100% of the time, and hate- because i’m with them 100% of the time.

    but erin, after 7 years of it, the LOVE is what i remember.

    may God go before and behind you.

  2. The last “Mommy! Mommy! Mommy!” brought back lots of memories!! I remember thinking “I need to change my name to anything but ‘Mommy'”!!
    Praying for you as you take this step into homeschooling. There will be days, but it’s SO worth it!!

  3. If anyone can do it, you can. You one tough little gal there Erin! No “mommy mommy mommy!” gonna get the best of you.
    I have faith.
    luv ya.

Leave a Reply

