Them with Me

First Day of School, 2010. It was Art's first day of school for the semester, too. His 23rd year in school. 🙂

It was a good day. A busy day, the kind where the living room never got picked up even once and we had breakfast for dinner (but at least we had dinner) and I feel like perhaps I ran a marathon in my sleep because I am just that tired.

It was a day of new– a says “a” in “apple”— and a day of old– Mom! Squeezy emptied out the pot cupboard— all mashed up together in a day just like it was supposed to be.

I remember Bubs’ first day of kindergarten. I wept when we dropped him off in Mrs. Jeske’s classroom that first day. That afternoon he came home and informed me that I had been wrong; he hadn’t learned to read yet.

Stinky's first day of kindergarten. I didn't cry this morning when I took this, but now I kind of want to. So grown up!

Today I didn’t cry.  I would have, if our day had involved brand new backpacks and clothes and haircuts and classrooms. But it didn’t. Instead, our day involved chasing the baby and taking pencils away, reading aloud, answering questions– the same as any other day, except with new folders and books and pencils fresh and sharp. It involved them, with me.

Bubba's first day of second grade. He said he thought maybe he liked home school even better than regular school. I say score one for Mommy. 🙂

I am a fan of them with me. Even if I am exhausted at the end of the day. Because them with me is the most important thing I can do in this season of my life. They are my calling, my ministry, here every day for me to love and care for and answer and discipline and laugh with.

Some days, maybe tomorrow, will be hard days. Being together will be hard. But today, even in the crazy moments and the moments when Stinky put on his stubborn face and the part of the day that involved poop and a whole lot of it, today it was good to be together.

Because that’s how we have been created.

Together for Good.

********

A few friends have asked about the curriculum we’re using, so I’m including it here. If you are one of the many people who don’t care at all, feel free to skip directly to the comment form, where you can tell me how adorable my children are. 🙂 I am not sticking closely at all to any one particular curriculum. I looked at a lot of different stuff and picked what I wanted from a variety of sources. So if it looks like a mish-mash, that’s because it is.

Bubba– Second Grade
Reading/Literature: Year 2 booklist from Ambleside online
Handwriting: A Reason for Handwriting, transition book
Spelling: Soaring with Spelling, grade 2
Grammar: Growing with Grammar, grade 2
Math: Alpha Omega Horizons, grade 2

Stinky– Kindergarten
Reading: Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons
Phonics: Phonics Pathways
Literature (read-aloud): suggested reading for Year 0 from Ambleside Online
Handwriting: A Reason for Handwriting, kindergarten book
Math: Alpha Omega Horizons, kindergarten

Shared Subjects
History: The Story of the World, volume 1
Science: The Complete Book of Our Solar System (this was given to me, and I just picked it b/c my boys love space. I imagine we’ll get through it fairly quickly and then we’ll pick a different topic)
Art and Music: suggested artists and composers from Ambleside Online
Spanish: My First Spanish Word Book

If you have any curriculum questions, please ask. I’m certainly no expert but I could tell you what drew me to one curriculum over another. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Them with Me

  1. woo-hoo! You are super mom! I could never. homeschooling would not end well for one of us (me). I’d be put in the nut hut and the key would be thrown away. 😀

  2. your first day of school picture is fantastic! and look at you all teacher-y cutting out those numbers! glad you are feeling like it was a success!

  3. wooo hoooo! YOu go girl! Very, very excited for you and your family.

    And perhaps I missed it, but I have no idea what Art is studying… seminary maybe?

  4. Okay, so just because I’m curious. Why did you pick what you picked for the main subjects (Math, Handwriting, Spelling, Reading, Grammer)? You might be onto something with this picking and choosing different books. I’ll have to remember that if we choose the homeschooling path.

Leave a Reply

