Oh, Those Crazy Kids. They Went to the Zoo Again!

And, bless her heart, she’s going to write yet another post about it! What is this, like the fourth time this year?

I know that’s what you’re thinking.

And you’re right. Because either I post about our trip to the zoo, or I tell you about all the other vaguely interesting things that happened today. But those things don’t have any cute pictures of my children to go with them. Which makes them even less interesting.

Just tell me my kids are cute and I’m happy. The rest of this is for, um, posterity. Or my own personal records. Or my mother. Whatever.

So. We went to the zoo today, just for fun, and because the weather is beautiful, and because Mommy needed to get out of the house.

The boys still are obsessed with maps.

The zoo had a new animal on display this time.

As you can see, the boys were a bit worried that that dinky little fence was not up to the challenge of keeping back the marauding giant caterpillar.

And that was the last we saw of the boys . . .

Just kidding.

Somehow we avoided getting devoured by the Very Hungry Caterpillar’s enormous mutant cousin, just in time for the boys to find out what it’s like to be animals in the zoo.

Bubs is supposedly making a sad-stuck-in-a-cage face. Personally, I think the picnic tables and trash can behind the boys really add to the realism of this photo.

The tiger was on the prowl and came up right near the window where the boys were.

That tiger has an obsession with Stinky. Back when he was just a little round butterball of a toddler, that tiger made dangerous faces at him. Thankfully the glass is really thick. Stinky just looked like a delightful round morsel of tiger food, I think.

And here we have Squeezy in the groundhog tunnel.

Yes, she is getting tall, and yes, she is the cutest toddler in the universe. Thanks for noticing.

(We got that outfit garage saling in Omaha. Isn’t it cute?)

Love them.

Seriously.

I really love this shot of Bubs in the groundhog tunnel thing.

He just cracks me up sometimes. Today I kept seeing him out of the corner of my eye and wondering who that kid was with Stinky.

He’s getting so tall.

Sigh.

Checking out the penguins. Squeezy really got into the animals this time around. She notices them more every time. Of course she kept saying that they all said BAAAAAA.

Speaking of which . . .

I thought this guy was hilarious. I wondered if he was stuck but he got himself out of there eventually. At first Squeezy was afraid of the goats but she got over it.

I cannot even tell you how funny I think this picture is.

Seriously. I don’t know why but it makes me laugh every time I look at it.

This is the only picture of me from the whole day. A self-portrait with a fiberglass cow.

I feel like I should have something really witty to say right now, but I got nothin’.

I feel like this young man is really growing up a lot these days.

And he has FINALLY learned his short vowel sounds. I can’t even begin to tell you how happy that makes me. Not that it has anything to do with the zoo. But it definitely deserves recognition.

Aren’t jellyfish cool?

So weird. And amazing.

It’s hard to see, but she has her hand under a waterfall.

And her tongue is sticking out. Silly little thing.

Look! A duck!

And in closing, the traditional bridge shot.

We tried to put Squeezy on there with the boys but she was freaked out. I’m not sure why. Maybe because they were swinging it back and forth as hard and fast as they could.

If the child does not develop a twitch before she turns two, it will be nothing short of a miracle.

Have a happy day!

7 thoughts on “Oh, Those Crazy Kids. They Went to the Zoo Again!

  1. Your kids are cute.

    The picture of the boys behind the chain link fence . . . yeah it looks more like the one taking the picture is fenced in and they are on the outside feeling sad about it. As a mother I can say that sometimes I feel fenced in.

  2. Looks like you had a great time!

    We are going to the zoo today! I was going to go Monday & then changed my mind. If I had know you were there I would have tried harder!

  3. i love the zoo… and it lookslike it was another fun day. yes, your kids are cute… and growing. just imagining squeezy saying baaaa all day. and those boys in the cage? oh so sad. glad you didn’t leave them there!

Leave a Reply

