Virtual Coffee

For a few months my bloggy friend Dawn has been having virtual coffee once a week. And I decided that this week I would join in. Only, apparently we were supposed to meet for coffee yesterday. So I do hope you’ll forgive me for being late for our coffee date.

If we were meeting for coffee this morning, I imagine you would comment on my silly coffee mug. Someone gave it to my husband as a Christmas gift a few years ago, but I have made it my own. It is the sacred Happy Coffee mug, and I drink from it every morning. It’s hard to be grumpy when you’re drinking from a mug that says HAPPY COFFEE all over it.

If we were meeting for coffee this morning, I’d have to apologize for the semi-musical sounds filling the living room as Bubs practices his piano lesson. And I’d also have to apologize for the fact that all my children are still in their jammies. But I know you, and I know you’d be gracious, because that’s how you are, and you’d overlook the princess dress in the middle of the floor and the basket of laundry by the entertainment center.

If we were meeting for coffee this morning, I’d tell you that Bubs is so excited because he gets to take his friend T to AWANA at church tonight, and I’d tell you that I’m two days behind on laundry and that we’re having turkey burgers for dinner. I’d tell you that Stinky’s birthday is only nine days away and I haven’t even thought about it yet, and that I’m nervous because I have two photo shoots this weekend.

I’d tell you that I really need a haircut and a color, although you wouldn’t really need me to tell you that, because it’s pretty obvious. I’d tell you that I need to come up with a song for the boys and I to sing in church next weekend, and that I’m worried about my dad’s back, which has been giving him a lot of trouble. I’d brag about the beautiful pictures on the wall, which were taken by my husband, and make sure you noticed the canvas of the two of us that I recently hung.

If we were meeting for coffee this morning, it’s possible I’d even let you talk occasionally. Because I’d want to hear about you and your kids and your passions and your life. And we’d probably be interrupted at least a million times by my kids, who always wait till I’m busy to have one crisis after another.

If we were meeting for coffee this morning, before you left, I’d give you a hug and make you sit with me for a picture. And after you’d left, I would rinse out our mugs and sit down with the kids to do some school. And I know my day would go better, because I had spent time with you this morning. šŸ™‚

join me for coffee!

15 thoughts on “Virtual Coffee

  1. yay!
    i love that we can be friends in real life even though we never met šŸ™‚ and i’d love to come and sit with you & your happy coffee mug… even in the midst of a mess. cuz that’s real life, right?! i kow we’d laugh and laugh… since i already made you giggle today already!!! ā¤ does it work here??? i guess i'll have to wait & see šŸ™‚

    anyway, i was thinking that i've been remiss… you invited me for a farm safari, so i wanted you to kow that you are welcome to come here for an alligator safari, okay? okay šŸ™‚

  2. Sorry I missed the coffee date–I was having tea and checking out the house-fire down the street and visiting with the neighbor. Maybe next time.

  3. I love that Happy Coffee mug! I noticed it immediately. šŸ™‚ I’m so glad you came for coffee. It was nice meeting you. I know what you mean about the kids suddenly needing you when your busy…it’s got to be some kind of radar thing. See you next week!

  4. If we were meeting for coffee this morning I would be loving the smell, but I am Mormon and we don’t drink the brown, creamy, yummy-smelling stuff.

    AND, I would love to meet you for cocoa instead!

  5. i drink coffee. i’d drink 2x as much if it were in that cup.

    if we were having coffee together i would tell you that i got my hair done today, but that while i was at hairway 41 (which resembles dolly parton’s place in the movie steel magnolias) i was feeling dizzy and nauseous from meds i am on. i ended up upchucking into hairway 41’s porcelain throne. nothing will come between me and FINALLY getting my hair done.

  6. thanks so much for coffee, sorry i am so late this week : ) it”s been a crazy week. i would tell you that i love that mug, i love the type on it and not to worry about the kids interrupting, i am so used to it!
    hope you have a great weekend and i hope to chat with you again next week!

Leave a Reply

