Tuesday Afternoon– Time for Coffee

Well, technically probably this morning would have been a better time, but Tuesdays are busy around here and this is my first chance to sit down and chat with you.

The thing I like about you is you always understand how these things are.

If you were coming over for coffee today, I imagine you’d notice that I finally mopped my kitchen floor. I expect you’d be too polite to say anything about it, but the difference is hard to miss. I’m going to try to be better about that.

If you were coming over for coffee today, you’d be able to use my bathroom this time because Art cleaned it! Bless his heart. You’d also get to see the balloon solar system, which needs to come down but hasn’t yet. Jupiter is now smaller than Saturn, and Earth is gone entirely. And probably the boys would be excited to show you the astronomy notebooks they are making for science. I love our science book and plan to continue to use the series next year.

Today I’m serving you your coffee (or tea or cocoa or cider) in my husband’s Akkadian mug. Don’t tell him. It’s one of his favorites. He studied that language a couple years ago, and it was really hard. He rewarded himself with that mug. I rewarded myself with ice cream. And yes, I totally deserved it.

If you came over for coffee today, I’d tell you how excited I am that Nate and Pam are coming over tonight for dinner. Pam is a licensed teacher who supervises our homeschool, so tonight she’s coming for one of our four required meetings. And also for spaghetti and meatballs. Which aren’t required, but should be, I think.

If you came over for coffee today, I’d tell you that this week is just crammed full of things to do, including extra work hours and a doctor’s appointment for me. And I’d tell you that weeks like this are NOT my favorite things in the whole world, but that I’m glad I get to sit down for a few minutes and have coffee with you.

If you came over for coffee today, I’d make you watch this video.

Well, actually, I’d probably just make the boys sing for you. But since this is just virtual coffee, a youtube video will suffice, don’t you think?

I’m absolutely positive that if you came over for coffee today, this little person would want to sit on your lap and bring you toys and show off her mad patty-cake skills.

Oh, I just love these sweet little people God has given me so much. Can you blame me?

If you came over for coffee today, I’d tell you how glad I am you came over, and how much your friendship blesses me, and I’d give you a big hug and tell you how much I look forward to seeing you next week.

I’m so glad you stopped by. Your friendship blesses me beyond measure. I can’t wait to see you again next week!

join me for coffee!

(I’m posting this even though Amy hasn’t posted yet. Did I miss the memo? Oh well.)

20 thoughts on “Tuesday Afternoon– Time for Coffee

  1. i would love to sit and visit and play patty cake and hear the boys sing 🙂 sounds like a perfect way to spend the afternoon 🙂 right now i’m just waiting for cam to come home then it is off to drum lessons! (if there was a memo i didn’t see it either… but i ahven’t posted mine yet :))

  2. haha…if you came to my house you would notice that i still have NOT mopped my floors! : ) and hopefully you wouldn’t say anything about it!

    i had no internet service yesterday so i just posted my coffee date, the kink is up now so be sure to go link up!
    thanks for joining in for coffee this week!

  3. Your comment about mopping your floor made me laugh. Then I looked at my own floor and sighed. I guess I should follow in your footsteps. 🙂

    Thanks for the coffee! I loved the story behind your husband’s favorite mug (which I would have drank from with kid gloves!).

  4. i’m grinning from ear to ear. i love having coffee with you.

    and now i’ve left your house singing, “He’s still working on me.. how loving and patient he must be..”

  5. loved visiting with you today! i shared your song on facebook and will be singing it all day. think i’ll share it at our small group tonight!

    have a wonderful wednesday, and i can tell you from first hand experience that even when the homeschooling ends, you still won’t often have a clean house. but hurray for your mopping!

  6. Such a cute fun post! 🙂 and I’m sure your floor on any day is cleaner than mine, so I would probably be admiring yours and feeling insecure about mine. 🙂

  7. I always make my little ones “perform” for others, I just can’t help myself because they are too stinkin cute.. and your little ones? gorgeous 🙂

  8. We loved the spaghetti & meatballs, and the great company. Congratulations on being the first of my homeschool families to invite us over for dinner!!!!

Leave a Reply

