An Open Letter to my Mother

Dear Mom,

I just finished watching Toy Story 3 with my family, and I just want to say the following.

I am sorry for all the times I cued Anne of Avonlea to the part where Anne says “I don’t want diamond sunbursts or marble halls; I just want you,” and then called you into the living room and pushed play just so I could watch you get all weepy.

I am sorry for laughing at you for crying at Folgers commercials.

I am sorry for my impression of you laughing and crying at the same time at the end of every Hallmark movie of the week.

Tonight I sat on my couch, trying to hold back tears, red in the face. And when my sons looked at me because I couldn’t keep back a particularly violent sniffle, I started to laugh and said, “Don’t look at me.”

It was then that I realized that I have become just like you.

Please pass the Kleenex.

Love,

Erin

12 thoughts on “An Open Letter to my Mother

  1. I can bet I know exactly what parts you got all teary… because I did he SAME thing! At multiple times!! Lucas laughed so hard, and the kids kept coming up to me saying “mommy, why are you crying???”
    🙂

  2. Excuse me while I dab my eyes.
    I seriously thought I had outgrown at least a bit of my emotional reactions, and then today I went to a concert by an Air Force brass band. At the end they honored veterans and pretty much anyone who has ever seen someone in uniform. I basically wept. I was in the second row, with no one ahead of me. I am sure they thought I had lost half my family in war. Patriotic stuff does that to me, right along with Anne.
    All that to say ,my dear, there is no hope for recovery. I am really not sure your boys will ever write an open letter to you, either.
    BTW, it actually came from your Grandmother, you know.

  3. darling.

    we saw the movie in the theater months ago. two other mom friends were seated in my isle. when andy set off for college we were all in tears. my 12 year old is still making fun of me.

Leave a Reply

