City Sidewalks

So, yeah. We had such a crazy, busy weekend (starting on Thursday). I know December tends to be this way, but I’m very thankful life isn’t like this all the time.

In addition to celebrating my birthday on Thursday, we also engaged in some Christmas frivolity at the Valley Junction Open House. If this sounds vaguely familiar, it’s because we go every year.

And every year we take some variation of this picture.

I’m kind of disappointed. I think the caboose picture is less dreadful than usual.

(You can see last year’s here.)

(And the year before that is here.)

I’m quite sure we have others from years before that, but they’re not on my blog.

Anyway.

There were a couple guys out playing their trumpets and ringing the bells for the Salvation Army. Both the boys got to stand and ring the bells for awhile. Bubs is ringing here. The boys really liked the trumpets.

After that it was time for a visit to Santa!

Not sure what Bubs asked Santa for. Probably something he won’t get.

I wonder how many more years he’ll be willing to sit on Santa’s lap. Sigh.

Anyway.

Stinky wanted something with batteries that is likely to break before New Year’s.

Also something he’s highly unlikely to get. πŸ˜‰

And Squeezy, well I have no idea what she wants, other than endless attention and eternal repetition of the ah-ah song she loves so much.

The face she is making in this picture cracks me up every time. You can’t really see it, but Santa is trying to give her a candy cane. I’m pleased that at only 19 months she already knows better than to take candy from strangers.

Giggle.

This year Santa had an elf with him. And I am pretty sure that this was a new Mrs. Claus. Kind of makes me wish I subscribed to some sort of North Pole tabloid.

I like him. Don’t tell. It’s a secret. πŸ˜‰

We waited in line half of forever to get to ride on the horse-drawn carriage. The boys really wanted to do it, and I was in a pushover kind of mood so I said okay. So while we were waiting Squeezy started to get pretty fussy and I decided to take her into the bank (the line was in the parking lot) where it was warm and there were cookies.

Unfortunately, also in the bank was a guy in a Rudolph costume. At first Squeezy was very interested in the “cow,” but then Rudolph started getting a little friendly and it totally freaked her out and she started wailing “OH! COWWWWWW!” like she was dying so we left the bank and went out in the cold again so she could be a grump without the screaming.

Once we got on the wagon though, she was fine.

After the fun of the carriage ride, we began meandering our way back because the boys wanted to see the trumpets again. They were gone, but another group was sitting with some guitars and a bongo and singing, so we went to watch them.

Then they started to sing this song, “Big Boned Woman.”

I am sure it was just a coincidence that they started singing that right after I walked up.

Ahem.

The night wouldn’t have been complete without hot chocolate from the coffee shop.

They were having karaoke night, and I really wanted to sing, but Art wouldn’t let me.

Just because it was 9:00 and Squeezy was crying and totally overwhelmed. He’s such a party pooper.

Just kidding.

Anyway, believe it or not, our trip to Valley Junction was just the start of our busy weekend. Friday night my boys took me on a date to a Christmas concert.

I am one blessed mama. We had a lot of fun at the concert; Bubs especially. At one point he leaned over and whispered, “I didn’t know there were so many different ways to make music!” His favorite was the orchestra’s version of “March of the Kings” by George Bizet. Afterwards we got to go up and look at some of the instruments and talk with some of the musicians. Great fun.

Saturday we had Christmas program practice, well Bubs and I did since he’s an actor and I’m the director-or-whatever of it. It went so well and I’m really excited to see how it all comes out.

Then yesterday after morning church was Bubs’ very first piano recital. He did such a good job. His teacher says he’s doing really well.

I’m just going to post one of the songs he played. The little bum-BUM at the end was entirely of his own invention.

I just think it’s precious. I’m excited to see what he’s going to be able to do a year from now. He absolutely loves playing the piano and he works really hard to do a good job.

And just in case you wondered what Stinky has been up to this weekend, here’s a picture of him I took this morning.

The tooth fairy brought him $1 last night for that missing tooth, and we’re all kind of hoping the other one falls out soon, for two reasons. First, because he looks so silly, and second, because I have great hopes that he’ll be able to sing “All I Want for Christmas Is My Two Front Teeth” this year.

So anyway.

We’ve got Christmas on the brain around here. It’s the most wonderful time of the year, as long as you don’t need to go to Walmart for anything. πŸ˜‰

Have a lovely day!

4 thoughts on “City Sidewalks

  1. Sounds like a very fun weekend! Judah lost his two front teeth one Christmas, and it was a blast singing that song over and over!

Leave a Reply

