Imagining

I imagine there are swings in heaven–
the kind where you go so high
your toes touch deep blue
and you think you must be flying.

I know there are grandmas there–
the kind with laps and rocking chairs
and warm soft blankets to wrap you up
so all you know is love.

And grandpas too, of course–
the kind to buy you an ice cream sundae
with three scoops and chocolate sauce
and sprinkles all rainbow and sweetness.

And your brother is there–
I imagine him running to you,
grabbing your hand and showing you around,
and the two of you filling the place with laughter.

But mostly He is there–
You know Him already, with scarred hands and feet
and gentle gentle eyes. Oh, He is wonderful
And He loves you so much.

And I imagine you sitting with Him–
the One who made you holding you.
And He holds me too. And if I imagine enough,
it’s like we’re together.

9 thoughts on “Imagining

  1. Sending you hugs and keeping you in my constant prayers. Every time I think of you my eyes tear up. Just praying that God will hold you close and comfort you right now. Wish there was something more tangible I could do…

  2. Incredible – just incredible. Love and prayers to you and your family as you walk this path. Blessings on you for sharing your heart. 2 Cor 1:6 in beautiful, painful, poignant action.

  3. Oh Erin, I could just weep… My heart aches for you. I just got caught up on reading your blog. Ive been recovering from surgery so I havent been on FB or blog reading all week. You will be in my prayers, friend. Im so sorry.

Leave a Reply

