Best Friends

The other day, I overheard my oldest tell his brother, “You’re my best friend.” And I realized that by homeschooling my boys, by not sending them off to school to mingle with other kids day in and day out, that I have forced them into being best friends.

It’s that whole lack of socialization thing, you know?

My sister is my best friend in the whole world, but I don’t think I would have said that 24 years ago, when I was eight and she was six. I had other friends– best friends– and she was just an annoyance.

But now, all these years later, she is most definitely my best friend. Thanks to the wonder that is facebook, I’m still in touch with my dear friends from throughout the years, but there is one person I speak with multiple times every day (usually by email, but still), one person I know will calm me when I’m freaking out, cry with me when I’m sad, laugh at my stupid jokes, cheer me on when I need a little motivation, share a recipe when I don’t know what to make for dinner, and always ooh and ahh over my darling, adorable children. That person is my sister.

And so when I hear Bubs tell Stinky that they’re best friends, it makes my heart happy. It’s like they’ve figured out something that took me a couple decades of life to figure out. No matter where life takes you, no matter how many friends you have, there is just no substitute for a brother or sister.

I know homeschooling isn’t for everyone. But let me tell you, that whole “socialization” argument isn’t going to convince me of much.

I don’t think I’m robbing them of anything at all.

9 thoughts on “Best Friends

  1. Agreed :). It’s good your boys are fairly close in ages though. My kids play well together when they are told to play together, but they don’t randomly choose to play together – it’s that whole six years apart thing :). Still, school being the only or best form of socialization is way over-emphasized. No, homeschooling isn’t for everyone, but socialization is just a ludicrous argument against it!

  2. I love how happy your kiddos look. 🙂 My sister and I were best friends too (back when we were your boys’ age), and then went through a long distant phase. We’ve been un-distant for a while now, but we’ve only recently started to be close again in the last year or two. Your photos make me wish she wasn’t 7,000 miles away even more than I did before.

  3. I imagine children model what they see.
    I imagine your children see you .
    It’s a win win .

    and while I didn’t homeschool, I think having an instant playgroup every day kind of did the same thing for mine.

    The other day my second to youngest was looking ahead at what loomed as a long chunk of alone in house time, all siblings otherwise occupied. She said, this is weird. This isn’t a family.

    I guess sometimes it’s a question of what you are used to?

    hugs to you Erin. you are awesome.

  4. I love this too. It is so very true. My boys did public school and now home school. While they miss aspect of public school and their friends, they absolutely have become the best of buds, two peas on a pod. I’m so thankful that they have found each other as more than just brothers but friends via being at home.

    Great post!

  5. Your kids bear a remarkable resemblance to Laura’s kids. I’ll bet you guys are related somehow. It’s great when you get to spend the night at your best friends house every night. Keep up the good work.

  6. So true! Hurray for sisters being close friends!!!
    What a blessing to see that special friendship in your own children. It just seems RIGHT doesn’t it!?!

Leave a Reply

