Virtual Coffee is More Fun Than Making Dinner

Right now though, I’m doing both. Thanks to the wonder that is the crock pot. So as long as we’re having coffee so late, you’d probably better just stay for pot roast and mashed potatoes and homemade rolls.

Of course, this is working on the assumption that I got the oven rinsed well enough after cleaning it this afternoon that we’re not all going to asphyxiate on fumes as the oven preheats. I told Art that if it starts getting fumy in here we’re going out for Chinese. So it’s a win-win I figure. Except then my hard work using the bread machine slaving over the rolls all day would go to waste.

Anyway. I gave my blog a bit of a facelift. Do you likey? I figured it was time to change out the pictures from the Fourth of July. I know that the timeliness of everything I do on here is one of the myriad reasons why you read this blog. Well, that and my sparkling wit.

Sigh. Okay. We all know the real reason you read this blog.

My children are cute.

I don’t blame you. If I were you, that’s why I’d be visiting too.

Of course, that adorable little darling there is currently trying to get a jelly bracelet off her ankle. The one I helped her take off two minutes ago, which she promptly put back on again. Also, about ten minutes ago she dumped a baggie of granola into my box of trash bags. Which means that every time I need a trash bag for the next three weeks I’m going to get a shower of granola for my trouble.

Oh wow. It’s getting a little fumy in here. Don’t be alarmed if I start posting things that make even less sense than usual.

Anyway. I suppose if you’ve been reading this blog for any amount of time you realize that cleaning the oven is not something I do very often. I’ve been on a bit of a spring cleaning kick. I’ve been purging like a maniac. When I started last week, I started weighing everything that went out the door as trash or in a bag for Goodwill. I was pretty proud of myself for getting rid of so much, but as the numbers kept going up I started just getting kind of embarrassed. Holy cow we have a lot of stuff. My total is nearly to 600 pounds after a week and a half. And I haven’t even gotten to the basement yet. The basement is where the worst of it is.

So yeah. I’m happy to have so much out of the house. And I’m appalled at how much we have that we never use. I am definitely on a quest to be a lot more careful and choosy about what we purchase or bring into the house.

I have realized that this whole spring cleaning thing is mostly a way for me to keep busy so I’m not thinking about things. I’m not sure if that’s good or bad. I love getting everything done. But I know there are some things I need to think about, to face. I just kind of don’t want to. I’m not good at this grieving thing. But I’m telling you this to warn you: I think there might be a serious and vaguely depressing post in the near future. This lighthearted bit of coffee love is just a smokescreen.

If you came over for coffee today, I have a feeling you’d pull it out of me and it would feel good to let everything out. But right now, since it is just virtual and all, I’m going to change the subject.

Wanna see some of my latest scrapbooking work?

I thought so.

Scrapbooking is more fun because my kids are so cute.

Well, the rolls are in the oven and nothing has exploded and no one has passed out, so I guess I have no excuse to sit here any longer. Time to get dinner on the table for my hungry family.

Thank you all for visiting today. It makes my day when you stop by.

<Photobucket

7 thoughts on “Virtual Coffee is More Fun Than Making Dinner

  1. I think it’s ok to distract yourself, to a point. It’s a coping mechanism. As long as you’re paying attention to the inner voice that tells you when it’s necessary to stop, think, listen, and feel. Sometimes grieving is a wooing process like that. At least, it has been for me. (I hope that doesn’t sound too crazy.)

    Anyway, your kids *are* adorable, you *do* have sparkling wit, and I read you because I can’t get enough of your lovely self. šŸ™‚ So please don’t die of oven fumes, and keep getting rid of stuff. It’s good for you. šŸ˜‰

  2. First of all, I LOVE your new header and the new pics. SO adorable :). I love the scrapbooking pages too. I cannot do the one pic a page thing, and I envy those who can :).

    I think keeping busy before/during the grieving process is healthy. Your mind knows what you are and are not ready to process. I find that I prefer to work through grieving while staying busy, and taking little “time outs” here and there to process through writing or whatever (writing is my preferred form… I don’t know what non-writers do..?). Anyway, it keeps me from brooding or dwelling, which for me often lead to sinking. And I think grieving is very individual anyway, and is different for everyone.

    But bring on the serious and vaguely depressing post, if that is what you need to do to grieve/heal.

    {{{huggles}}}

  3. ok… since we were just carrying on (and on and on and on) on fb i know that the rolls were just fine. and that the house didn’t explode. hey… that would have been one wy to get rid of the stuff in the basement!!!

    i love the new header šŸ™‚ i noticed it right away! and your smile is beautiful. even if it is a smoke-screeny thing. been thinking about you & grief & healing… and i think it will be good when you get to the point when you can write those words down. i usually feel like that is me officially handing it over to God… instead of just syaing i am when i’m really not.

    hey! now i’m noticing you REALLY changed things here- no more sombreros????

  4. Love your new header – and your fun.

    Oh, and just, don’t force you to grieve. Nobody’s good at it. Just take it as it comes. Rest. He is holding you. There is no time limit or time frame for grief.

    Love you…

Leave a Reply

