April Showers Bring a Deeper Need for Virtual Coffee.

Seriously, y’all. The weather here is out. of. control. Wasn’t it raining last Tuesday? We’d better have a riot of May flowers, that’s all I’m saying.

Speaking of which, last week I told my kids that old joke, “April showers bring may flowers, but what do Mayflowers bring?” And when they finally “got it” (it took them a minute), they laughed like it was the funniest thing EVER. Which, maybe to them it was. Funny little people.

Anyway, I’ll be kind of glad for some May flowers. And sunshine. I hope we get it. But at least it’s not snowing.

If you came over for coffee this morning, I would have to tell you this story. See, I knew that the weather was going to be icky for the weekend, and I really wanted a picture of the three kiddos in their Easter clothes to hang on my wall. It’s a new tradition I started last year. Anyway, I had this plan that was pure genius. We would take the kids to the botanical center, to which we have a family membership, and which is indoors and warm and theoretically dry, and take their pictures there amid all the beautiful flowers and foliage.

When we got there and the parking lot was full I knew we had a problem. We got inside and discovered that, in honor of Earth Day, they were letting everyone in for free. Translation: the place was so busy that there was almost nowhere to even put my kids to try to take their pictures without 8 strangers getting in the way. In addition, it was WET in there, for whatever reason– even the paved walkways were wet and had puddles in them. And also, Squeezy was not in the mood to get her picture taken and started crying like someone was trying to murder her any time Art or I put her next to her brothers and pulled out the camera.

In the end, I got one decent picture.

So that’s the one that will be coming to live on my wall. And I’m sure in years to come I will forget all the misery and tears that getting that picture required, and my heart will swell in nostalgia whenever I see it hanging on my wall. Or at least I’ll laugh when I think about it. I sure wasn’t laughing Friday, though.

While we were there I also took some portraits for Gracie’s birthday, which is tomorrow (OH SAD). But you can’t see those yet. They turned out really well; getting a good picture of one kid is so much easier than getting one of three. So you’ll have to come back tomorrow if you want to see them. And believe me when I say you do. πŸ™‚

It’s hard for me to believe that school-year activities are winding down. We’ll probably be doing school into June, but the activities the boys participate in are finishing up over the next few weeks. Tomorrow night is the boys’ AWANA awards ceremony, and next Friday is their last homeschool choir concert of the year– a big spring concert in the evening. Technically, we could be done with school after about three more weeks, but I think it will do everyone good to go longer than that. For one thing, Stinky is really starting to “get” his reading and I hate to set him back. For another thing, by day 3 of spring break my boys were flopping around the house complaining of boredom. So they get to have school for awhile yet. It gives them something to do in the mornings so that they appreciate their afternoons of freedom a bit better.

Since the AWANA thing is tomorrow night, we’re not celebrating Squeezy’s birthday till the weekend. Which is cool with me. I still have one or two things I want to pick up for her. πŸ™‚

So anyway, I hope you have a lovely day. Thanks for stopping by for coffee! πŸ™‚

<Photobucket

3 thoughts on “April Showers Bring a Deeper Need for Virtual Coffee.

  1. oh yes, YAY for coffee with a friend!!! one day, in person, ok? ok!

    i thought it was weird-ish that earth day was on good friday, and i guess it really didn’t work out for you!! but you did get a great picture πŸ™‚ they are so cute!! i kow it would have been nicer without a million people, and maybe without the murder-cry… but all in all, i think you did a-ok!

    (our little zoo in town offers free admission for locals on the 1st saturday of the month, so you know up front NEVER to go on that day!)

    i think it is crazy funny that they “got” the mayflower joke in less time than it took them to find their easter baskets. on the table. in plain sight. πŸ™‚

    can’t wait for squeezy birthday pics!!!! xoxo

  2. I am actually drinking coffee as I read this. So, perfect! πŸ™‚

    When I hear that Mayflowers joke, it always makes me think of the Little House books. I’m pretty sure it’s in The Long Winter (don’t quote me though) where Ma says, “If April showers bring May flowers, what do April blizzards bring?” Oh, life in the Dakotas (or wherever they were at that point) (not that I know what life in the Dakotas is like) (it’s going to be 78 today) (trying to set a record for longest sequence of parentheses).

    I second the Squeezy birthday pics. BRING ‘EM ON!!! πŸ˜€

  3. Our next door neighbor’s kid called last weekend to ask if our refrigerator was running. Like that joke is half a century old or more! I told him it wasn’t. And he was stymied.

    That photo is a definite keeper.

Leave a Reply

