To My Squeezy Girl

You’re two today.  I type those words and I tell people that fact but it doesn’t seem like it could possibly be real. And when I think of how much you’ve grown and changed and become, well then it doesn’t seem like it could possibly have only been two years since they laid you in my arms, fighting mad at being wrenched so unceremoniously from your cozy little world.

You’re still not really a huge fan of change, unless it involves cookies. I can respect that.

You are the stereotypical two-year-old already, judging by your regular and vehement use of the word no, your adoration for having your way, and your endlessly creative methods of tormenting your big brothers. You’re lucky they love you so much.

Oh, Little Girl, you’re just so sweet and funny and naughty and busy and messy and stubborn and smart and talkative and amazing. Having you around for the last two years has been an incredible experience. You are a blessing from God, even on the days when you’re driving me crazy with the dumping and yelling and emptying and destroying and crying and not sleeping.

You have brightened up our lives so much with your sunny smile and your sweet little voice and your hugs and kisses. We laugh so much with you around. Even in our grief, you have kept us laughing. We are blessed.

I know that Two can be a difficult and turbulent time. I know that we have our work cut out for us as we seek to mold you into the person God wants you to be. But I also know this: the more you learn and the more you grow, the more joy you bring to us. And I imagine that Two will be no exception. And if it is, well, I’ll love you anyway. Because that’s what mommies do.

Happy birthday, my sweet little Bug.

8 thoughts on “To My Squeezy Girl

  1. Happy Birthday Gracie!! We hope you have a great day!! We love you and miss you very much! Have a wonderful year! ❤

  2. Hi Erin! Thanks for visiting my site! I remember when you first starting having kids! What a pretty family you have!!
    -Pam (Ideas for Scrapbookers)

Leave a Reply

