The Last Day

It’s been one day short of nine months since I took this picture.

The first day of school– my first day embracing my job as teacher of my children as well as mother.

I was pretty nervous. What if I couldn’t do it?

And now, after nine months of math lessons and phonics and lost pencils and rescuing handwriting pages from the grips of a toddler, I know I can. I can do this thing. And I’ll admit that I can’t even imagine sending my children to school all day, away from me, from our home.

(I mean, there are times I dream about it; I’m not going to lie. But when it really comes down to it– no. I’m so glad they can be here with me. That we can be this family doing all these things– living and laughing and growing and learning– together.)

Maybe someday they’ll go to a “regular” school. Maybe not. I’ve given up trying to predict the future. This is what I know.

This boy has learned to write in the most amazing cursive ever for an eight-year-old boy. He has overcome his fear of math and loves multiplication, although he could live without subtraction and not miss it a bit. He has been so helpful and kind (usually) with his brother and so patient (most of the time) with his sister. He is a great kid. I am blessed to spend my days with him.

This boy has worked so hard to learn to read and write. He still has a long way to go, but his hard work is paying off and his confidence in his ability is growing by leaps and bounds. He can add and subtract and someday I have no doubt that he will remember which way b and d face. He has lost six teeth and has made me laugh and patiently helped Squeezy again and again when she wants to color or draw or look at a book.

And this little Bug has grown so much I don’t even know where to start. I’m so glad she gets to grow up right now with her big brothers here to play with her and make her smile. She is our little homeschool pest and we love her with all our hearts.

I took a picture of Art too, but because I love him and he looks like a dork in it I’m not posting it. He has one year left in his M.Div. program. One year until we don’t know what. It’s a bit scary and adventurous, don’t you think.

Of all of us, I am sure I am the one who has learned the most. What a great experience it is to teach my children. I’ve learned about myself and about my kids and about curriculum and about what works and what doesn’t work. I know I didn’t succeed at everything this year, but I know I get to try again next year. And that’s what school is, right? Learning and growing . . .

It’s been a good year. Here’s to an awesome summer.

7 thoughts on “The Last Day

  1. You made it!! Everyone learned, no one killed anyone else, that last picture is all smiles…I call that a win. πŸ™‚ Now go have yourself some ice cream or something. You earned it! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

