Perception

I’ll never be a supermodel.

I’ll never have six-pack abs or arms to die for.

My hair will never make all the other moms green with envy.

I still have acne, which looks especially lovely with my crow’s feet.

My feet are huge and in dire need of a pedicure.

I’ll never fit into this world’s definition of beauty. I’m too fat, too old, too stretch-marked, too arthritic, too gray.

But he thinks I’m beautiful.

And after all these years, every now and then I catch myself believing it.

10 thoughts on “Perception

  1. “but he thinks i’m beautiful… and i catch myself believing it.”

    first, you are. i read how beautiful you are in your words; in your heart for your husband, your children, your Jesus. i see it in your pictures that capture you, who i read.

    but i know you didn’t write this to be affirmed. i know you wrote it because you feel it.

    i feel this.

    i’ve never thought i was pretty. my eyes are far apart, my hair is a frizzy/oily nightmare i must tame daily, my stretchmarks could take your stretchmarks down, the “girls” hang low and wobble to and fro, i’ve got plenty of junk in my trunk, and acne…umm, wasn’t that suppose to end 20 yrs ago?!?

    but michael looks at me…
    and he sees what i cannot (won’t) see…
    beautiful.
    and little by little i believe it too.

  2. You had better believe it!! We raised Art to tell the truth!! And there are many others who agree!! ❤ 🙂

  3. there is such beauty in love!
    i wish someone had told me years ago that the pimples would still be hanging around when the wrinkles started settling in! that is almost the most unfair thing in the whole world!
    i could tell you that you are beautiful… and that your heart is beautiful. but i know that to hear those things and to believe them are two different things.
    i feel most beautiful when i’m in my husband’s arms…

    so glad your love convinced you for a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

