I Made A Pretty!

So this isn’t what I normally post, but since normal is a relative concept and my blog is kind of a mess (like my brain) anyway, I decided to just go ahead and post it. Because it makes me happy.

I saw this picture on Pinterest the other day:

I’ve been wanting something cute to put on the front door, since the decoration I’ve had up there was made by my eight-year-old out of popsicle sticks. And I mean, it was awesome, but I was ready for something new and festive and patriotic. And I looked at that picture, and checked out the tutorial to make the pom-poms (out of old t-shirts!) and I thought, “I could do that!” And it turns out I was wrong, because I couldn’t have made them without Art’s help, but we did make them.

Mine aren’t quite as big as hers because I used old t-shirts that had belonged to the boys. And they’re probably not quite as neat and tidy as hers because I’m not exactly a perfectionist. But I love them.

I bought a frame from the Dollar Tree, removed the glass and everything, and just tied the pom-poms to it. And I finished it off with a bow, also from the Dollar Tree. Everything can be removed from the frame so I can switch them out with the seasons.

Anyway, I’m totally not a crafty type (unless it involves construction paper and glue sticks), so I’m pretty proud of my festive and patriotic front door.

9 thoughts on “I Made A Pretty!

  1. i LOVE your pretty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    i saw this a while ago but it didn’t really speak to my heart. but in red, white & blue? i wanna make this!

  2. ERIN! you TOTALLY made a pretty. that looks great…in fact i like yours better. so festive.

    and just so you know whenever i make a pretty my husband always ends up helping me. i get all “i can’t do this” and want to give up and he swoops in and saved the day {as usual}.

Leave a Reply

