What We’ve Been Up To, Week 5

It’s Saturday! Time for more mediocre pictures of our week’s activities! I know. You’ve been living for this moment, right?

So here’s some of the stuff we’ve been doing this week.

This was a fun activity. We painted on foil and then used q-tips to draw pictures in the paint. Then we pressed white paper on the paint and it transferred our painting from the foil to our paper. We learned we had to work pretty fast to get the transfer done before the paint dried too much. But it was a lot of fun. Once they were dry we cut them out and mounted them on colored construction paper that we cut out with my fun-edged scissors. The boys thought that was cool. I don’t have pictures of that part, though, because I’m lame.

We had an indoor picnic in Squeezy’s bedroom, as forever immortalized by these truly dreadful photographs.

Both boys learned to ride their bikes without training wheels! This was an epic accomplishment, and they both have the bruises and road rash to show their awesomeness. (They have been practicing on campus where my husband works. There’s hardly anyone there right now, especially on weekends, so it’s a great safe place to learn.)

The boys made robots. This was a really fun activity for them. I gave them each a panel from a cereal box, and told them to draw their robot on it. Then they cut them out and glued aluminum foil on the bodies. Then they added googly eyes, sequins, straws, craft sticks, and whatever else they could find to make their robots awesome. This project kept both boys busy for more than an hour on a rainy day.

And while the boys were making robots, Squeezy was having some tactile fun with craft sticks and googly eyes. She put them in a container and dumped them out, made piles of them, and stuck them to a sheet of contact paper I taped sticky-side out on the back door.

We had dinner with a blogging friend when her family was passing through on a roadtrip. Kazzy and I met through blogging a few years ago, but this is the first time we got to meet in dear life. We had so much fun with their family, and our kids were shockingly well behaved.

Bubs got a tooth pulled on Tuesday, so his mouth looks a little funny in the next picture. He was still numb. We taped paper in a box lid, dipped marbles in paint, and swirled them around. Fun fireworks paintings for everyone!

Tuesday night Art took the boys camping. They had many hysterical adventures, but I am holding out that my husband will blog about the hilarity, so I’m not going to share much except pictures. And the fact that they came home at 11:30 that night. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Wednesday (I think? I’ve lost track) the boys helped me make red, white, and blue popsicles. The red layer is strawberries and sugar mixed in the blender, the white layer is banana slices, and the blue layer is vanilla yogurt with food coloring in it. They froze overnight and gave us a delicious treat on Thursday evening.

On Wednesday we used some coupons and a gift certificate at TCBY and spent $.49 to buy frozen yogurt for everyone. Delicious! Stinky got the blue kind. Can you tell?

Thursday we met my parents at Lake Anita State Park and had a picnic lunch and then the kids went swimming. This was the first time Squeezy had ever been to the beach, and she was a little freaked out by the waves until Daddy took her out to check them out. But mostly she played in the sand near my mom and me while the boys cavorted out in the water. It was such a nice time.

And, well, that was our week. Or at least most of it. I had a terrible headache all day yesterday, so we didn’t really do anything fun or exciting. Today we did a few little things, but you’ll have to wait to hear about those till next Saturday. I’m sure you’ll be on the edge of your seat!

Tomorrow night we are going to have a picnic with some friends and see some fireworks, and then Monday there’s a parade and a Fourth of July party and much general frivolity I’m sure. Should be a fun weekend.

Have a great day!

 

 

3 thoughts on “What We’ve Been Up To, Week 5

  1. Love. I miss being a kid in the summer. Instead, I’m sitting here grading. GRADING. While sick. On Fourth of July weekend. (Which, actually, being sick on Fourth of July weekend is something I did quite a lot as a kid, so maybe I am more kid-like than I had previously thought. Also, do not ask me to diagram the “Which, actually” part of the previous sentence.)

    Happy Fourth!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. i am jealous of kassy. very jealous.

    i enjoy seeing what your doing each week. i need me a kick in the pants and some inspiration. that is what you give me.

    btw- my kids cut stars this week to stream around the house… blue and white stars that is since we were all out of red construction paper (i blame christmas and valentine’s day). so that was one project started and never finished.but whatever it totally occupied there time!

Leave a Reply

